Writing challenge

Peaches and Cookies

I had to decide. Passion a creative flame or a destructive fire?

NADINE H
A Taste for Life
Published in
3 min readMar 18, 2023

--

Photo by Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

Do not get misled by the title. I used peaches and cookies as two symbols to associate my mind with the story. They are not related, but they mapped my ideas to work on this A Taste for Life prompt designed by Jason Edmunds. I tried tackling this backwards in an attempt to figure out a way to portray my interpretation after my fellow writer Mustapha El Hajj extended this prompt invite to me. It got my creative mind buzzing. Thank you.
This prompt is about passion, that driving force in our lives, that fire which brings out the best in us, but if we get carried away, passion can become a destructive fire. Does it?

I knew for sure when our eyes met, that I had found my soul mate. I never thought I could swim in those emotions and carry such love forever. But throughout the years time told me a different story. I was young and confused, fairytales were not real, but it was good to believe they were when I wanted to escape reality and get that creative comfort, to return back feeling refreshed and ready to navigate my way through my days.

Part of me infatuated
Part of me hallucinated

--

--

NADINE H
A Taste for Life

I love words, writing, literature, poetry and art. I write short poems about anything that triggers my passion. My blogs: viewsandreviews.me & soulofagypsy.me