MUSIC | CHALLENGE | FUN

The “Each Letter of Your First Name Is a Song” Challenge

A Taste for Life Weekend Challenge 38, Prompt 4: Listening

Jennifer Barrios Tettay
A Taste for Life

--

template from canva

Now and then Medium writers come up with wonderful ideas, you could call them games! For example, the 10-word story or the 10-word story with pictures. Really fun! 👉 If you haven’t already, you should definitely join in!

But I love not only participating but also reading such stories!

And now I thought I’d make use of Jason Edmunds’s prompt “Listening” for a new game! And here are the rules:

  • Write down each letter of your first name.
  • Find a song title for each letter!

So it’s really simple. Let’s go!

J for Jouluksi Kotiin

“In heaven’s gardens I’ll spend the eve,
I got to sit on my knee for ages.
A little child’s wish might come true,
If he could have his father home for Christmas.”

I listen to this song up and down these days. My absolute favorite singer Toni Kakko performs it in his native language Finnish. It’s a Christmas song, so it is just right for this season! ❄️

E for El Sueño de Deirdre

“Curse that has been with me since before I was born
Persecuted for wanting to choose my freedom
Too many lives I destroyed by following my heart
Today the blood will flow — please don’t let me go”

My favorite duet song! The female vocalist is from the Spanish folk metal band Celtian and the male, that’s Rubén Kelsen. 🌿

N for Nemo

“Oh, how I wish for soothing rain
All I wish is to dream again”

A classic song by Nightwish — with my love, Tarja, of course. 💘

N for Never Gonna Give You Up

“Never gonna give you up
Never gonna let you down …”

☝️ I know you know this song!

First I thought of Bob Marley’s “No woman no cry”. Then Metallica’s “Nothing Else Matters”. But suddenly it fell like scales from my eyes! No one else but Rick Astley could fill this spot! Sorry, not sorry. 🐕

I for Isäni ääni

“I know your voice, it echoes through me to infinity
A broken man in flesh, but your spirit’s free
The might of man, it crumbles, the earth’s our destiny
Still I hear, while I’m asleep, how you sang to me”

Another Finnish talent! Marko Hietala sings “The Voice of my Father”. But I like the Finnish version better than the English one. It sounds more soulful and passionate. 🎶

As my father is dead, I might feel a special connection to this song.

F for From The Inside

“Take everything from the inside
And throw it all away
’Cause I swear for the last time
I won’t trust myself with you”

I used to listen to Linkin Park a lot! Especially, Meteora was such a great album. Too bad about Chester, may he rest in peace. 🙏

E for Eisblumen

“A silver lining shines in the sky
The evening turns dew to frost
The paleness that snows from our cheeks
Makes us beautiful like angels
You should get down on your knees
And pray that the moon stays overcast”

Subway to Sally is a German folk metal band! In the scene, they are very well-known and popular. No wonder with this music and these amazing lyrics! 🌙

R for Reignite

“Death will take those who fight alone
But united we can break a fate once set in stone
Just hold the line until the end
Cause we will give them hell”

Malukah sings Mass Effect’s song! Such a talented woman, I love her. I also often like to sing this song myself. 💜

It’s done! So, is anyone else joining in?
I would love to read your versions! And to listen to your songs. 🎵 💖

A Taste for Life Weekend Challenge 38, Prompt 4: Listening

Provided by Jason Edmunds.

--

--