A Teacher’s Hat: October 2018 Letter

Kriti Khare
A Teacher's Hat
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

2 min readOct 1, 2018
Image from Pinterest

Dear friends,

October has begun and that completes a month of school for most of us. My student teaching placement is out and I am looking forward to teaching Math in November and December and learning from my mentor teacher.

September was a busy month so let’s do a quick recap of the articles that came out:

  • If you are looking for ideas to gamify your Math classroom, take a look at my article about using SMILE (Secondary Mathematics Individualized Learning Experiment) cards.
  • I read Trevor MacKenzie’s Dive into inquiry over the summer. In the article ‘Embracing Inquiry in Teaching and Learning’, I reflected on the book and also looked at how we can embrace inquiry while teaching, learning and planning.
  • As I learn about the theories in assessments, I decided to do a quick review of concepts like validity, reliability, fidelity and fairness, and answering the essential question of why we assess in the first place.
  • In her debut article on A Teacher’s Hat, S Johnston shared her love for notebooking and how it has influenced her students’ learning.

For this month, some of articles that will come out are:

I will do a follow up article on assessments about developing certain kinds of assessments. I will also be exploring the idea of medium being the message. Valérie will share her experience of mindfulness in the classroom.

Ending this note with a quote about October that speaks of education and our students.

Image from Pinterest

Have a great October!

Regards,

Kriti

--

--

Kriti Khare
A Teacher's Hat

Preservice Teacher in Computing Science & Math, Reader, Writer, Educator, Researcher, Bullet journalist, Editor of A Teacher's Hat. www.armedwithabook.com