3 Questions with Natalie Nylon

Arin Segal
A Teen View
Published in
2 min readJul 19, 2013

[soundcloud url=”http://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/60841609" params=”” width=” 100%” height=”166" iframe=”true” /]

No one just wakes up one morning and becomes a musician, it’s a constant struggle that can take years! Natalie Nylon has seen it all and has finally found her niche. Look at her phone and you will find pages of lyrics in her notes folder and tons of voice memos of song ideas. With 3 number one songs in Europe and music videos on the way, she is making her mark as a fun and flirty pop songstress with an indie edge. Social media is huge for any musician these days and if you reach out to Natalie on any platform, expect a thoughtful response back. And if you’re wondering, she wants to try CrossFit, but we both decided it seems a little intimidating. Natalie and I chatted and here is what she had to say:

Arin: What got you interested in music?
Natalie: I’ve been playing music for as long as I can remember. I started piano at four and then went into playing viola and then bass guitar and then guitar and keyboards, and then I played in bands all throughout my childhood. Then, I started touring when I was 17 and then I started my solo music after I toured with my last band. We were also on a reality TV Show on Fuse TV which I thought was really cool; that was with the last band I was in called Midnight Shakes. After that band broke up, I started my solo project, Natalie Nylon, and I’ve just been doing that ever since.

A: How would you describe your own music?
N: Pop, dance, electropop. It’s not as pop as Britney Spears, so it’s got a little more indie/electro vibe to it, and I always… When I say if anyone wanted to put adjectives to my music, it’s kind of fun, flirty, and energetic. Kind of like how I am as a person, so it translates into my music as well.

A: You have gotten to write with some cool people and have had some success overseas with your music. What has that been like?
N: Amazing! Shocking actually. You never think it’s going to happen to you because I always hear about other musicians succeeding and doing really well and, especially when you’re first starting off as a musician, it’s kind of a dream. You don’t actually think it’s going to happen to you; and so many people told me that it couldn’t happen to me and I couldn’t do it, but it just made me want to do it ten times more. So I just pushed and pushed and when I got the phone call that my song hit number 1 in Europe, I was just floored and then everything that has happened since then — I’ve had three number 1’s in Europe and the song on American Horror Story and The Real L Word — it’s just been amazing. It’s been a dream come true.

For more on Natalie, visit: NatalieNylon.com

--

--

Arin Segal
A Teen View

Associate at Prodigy Sports. Contributor to Front Office Sports. Likes include traveling, sports, music and finding photogenic coffee shops.