Benni Cinkle

Arin Segal
A Teen View
Published in
3 min readJul 2, 2012

When I started high school, I never thought I would spend the majority of my free time working on talking to musicians and going to concerts. Similarly, when Benni Cinkle found herself in Rebecca Black’s ‘Friday’ video, she probably never thought she’d become known as the girl in the pink dress. She turned her 15 seconds of fame into a platform to speak out about bullying and why it needs to end. Seeing inspirational things like this are what make me smile. Check out my interview with Benni and see why she does what she does.

Arin: What is it like to be 15 and travel all over to speak to other children and teens?
Benni: Of all the things I’ve been doing this past year, going to schools and giving my anti-bullying presentations is definitely my favorite part. I love meeting all the kids and hearing their stories. There’s usually one or two kids at each school that want to talk to me privately about a problem they are having and it really feels good to know that I’m helping them. I’m really fortunate that I’ve been given this platform.

A: What was your initial reaction to people knowing who you were because of a pink dress in a Rebecca Black video?
B: At first I was shocked that people had even noticed me because it wasn’t my video. The negative comments didn’t bother me too much because I grew up in a family where everyone pokes fun at each other, so I had to learn how to laugh at myself pretty early on… This was just on a much bigger scale.

A: Why do you think it’s so important to create awareness about bullying?
B: I think it’s important for people (especially adults) to realize that bullying today is much different than the bullying of previous generations. The reason is that the internet has changed the playing field. In the past, kids would get bullied at school, but they had reprieve from the harassment at home. But today, the victimization can be relentless. Some kids are getting bullied at school, in their neighborhoods, and also online. That can create a lot of pressure. Also, the bullies today never have to face their victim, so even people who wouldn’t normally have the guts to bully someone personally can now bully someone anonymously. We are the first generation to grow up online, and we are the first generation to have the term “bullycide.” I don’t believe that’s a coincidence.

A: What has been the most inspirational story you have heard?
B: Someone emailed me and said that, after my presentation, they saw someone getting bullied and they were about to just walk by when they remembered what I said in my presentation. Then, they went over to the bully and stood up for the victim. He was so happy that he had helped someone and actually took a stand. I love that story!

A: What are your goals for the rest of this year?
B: A New York publisher has asked me to author an anti-bullying book. So if things work out, I’m going to be working on that!

A: How do you use social networks to help spread the message?
B: I try to respond to every message personally. Sometimes it’s difficult because I get so many, but I scroll through them every day and make sure to respond to anyone who is in crisis and make sure they are getting the help they need. I just want to be there for anyone that needs someone to talk to.

--

--

Arin Segal
A Teen View

Associate at Prodigy Sports. Contributor to Front Office Sports. Likes include traveling, sports, music and finding photogenic coffee shops.