Daniel Rinaldi

Arin Segal
A Teen View
Published in
5 min readFeb 7, 2012

After spending time in bands and working the 9-to-5 job, Daniel Rinaldi has finally gotten his solo EP off the ground. The new EP, released today, showcases Daniel’s writing and vocal talent. He is a talented guy with a bright future ahead. Make sure to grab the new music so you can say you had it first!

Arin: What got you into music to begin with?
Daniel: I wanna say when I was about seven years-old I started getting into the church choir, just from being around it as a child, and then I kept going with it until High School when I made the decision to go into a performing arts high school, and that’s when I made the serious decision to turn it into a career, when I was just studying it three times a day for four years and then after that I made the decision to really make it my life and not do anything else, I mean I’ve done the whole 9-to-5 thing but getting started in music so young and kind of instilling it in myself, and getting started at that young age, listening to people in church with the organ and piano music and listening to my dads records and CDs and everything that he had at the time were just kind of schooling me and making me want to dive in and then realizing oh wait, maybe I can do this too, that’s kind of how I got started.

A: What are you most looking forward to with the release of the EP?
D: It’s been about five years now since I’ve release any material with me singing on it, I mean I’ve done shows and I’ve done things in that time span, but I haven’t really released anything so I’m really anxious to get it out because this is me standing on my own and showing people now what I’m capable of as opposed to outside of what I’ve done in my past with bands and anything else people have heard me on. It’s kind of a chance for me to stand alone and show people what I, as an individual, can do as apposed to with four other guys, its always a collaboration, and you’re in a room writing and you’re always collaborating, but this is kind of my chance to say look what I can do, can I stand on my own or not, and I’m hoping that when it comes out that I can prove that, so I think I’m most anxious to see what the reaction is five years later of this is what I am now and how will they take that and run with it.

A: How was writing this album different than the others you have done since you were on your own?
D: With this EP it was very different for me because it was the first time where there was no interruption, it wasn’t you go write for a few days, take a break and come back to it; with this EP it was myself and my producer and we sat in a room for a little less than a month and generated a lot of ideas, and a lot of topics, and different lyrics and different melodies and that was an everyday thing, it wasn’t just okay, were going to get together for a couple hours, it was we were together for six/seven/ eight hours a day just happily writing tunes out trying to get them going, where in the past it was so much going on. You’re touring, you have to do other things, you have to write a song here and there, and I never got the chance that I had now to it down and focus, and focus on the songwriting and what’s going on today with myself so I can write these songs, and write them to the best of my ability, because when you take the time and really focus on the writing of the song, that’s when you can feel them and give people a clear view as apposed to rushing through them.

A: Do you have a favorite song off the album?
D: I kind of have two favorites. ‘One on One’ is definitely a favorite of mine just because it kind of speaks to my musical influences and I’m a sucker for a driving ballad, I love the emotional aspect but I also love that it doesn’t bore you and it gives you a little something to hold onto. My other one I’d have to say is ‘Outta Control’ because it’s the most different then anything I’ve ever done, there’s a little reggae vibe in it and it was the first time where I wrote about something that was going on in the world, so that was probably the most different song I’ve ever written and I’m so excited and happy with the way it came out and the way it came across and the vibe of the song ,so definitely, those two are my really big favorites.

A: How have you stayed in touch with the fans and gotten them involved and ready for the release?
D: Well I’ve been doing the whole Facebook and Twitter thing; you know social media becomes such a huge part. When I first started in music you had to tour and you had to be out at the show and talk to every single person and now with social media you can reach out to so many people at one time, so its been really great to reach out to people and get them ready for the album. My Facebook music page has been a great place, I don’t have the million likes that maybe some other artist does, but my core group of people that have been supporting me are amazing, its been crazy to wake up to amazing comments and see years later that I have these supportive fans, I don’t even like calling them fans because they’re like friends almost, to where they are so, so supportive like any other family member would be that you’ve known for years, they’ve been so eager to help me and to pass it on.

A: What is your biggest goal this year once the EP comes out?
D: When the EP comes out I really want to start playing shows, and get the songs out there and really start to build a strong base for the year and the years to come. As far as a full length, I mean, I’m always actively writing songs and continuing to expand the catalogue of music I have, so could a full length happen? I mean, I hope, I love writing songs if I could write more songs and put them out I’d love to do that, but basically the most important thing for me after the EP comes out, I feel like, is just getting out there and letting people know that I’m here and how bad I want to be in this industry.

A: Are there any charities or organizations you are involved with?
D: I’ve always been involved with the Make- A -Wish Foundation from a young age. At seven years old I had an older brother pass away from Brain Stem Glioma, which is a tumor on the stem of the brain and when he was going through that we did a lot with Make -A -Wish and my family still donates a lot to that cause. When I was in my old band used to do a lot more charity work, now it’s kind of harder because they’re in Florida and I’m in New York, but I’m always actively involved pushing the other stuff. I’ve also done work with the Tug McGraw Foundation which is a great organization helping people.

--

--

Arin Segal
A Teen View

Associate at Prodigy Sports. Contributor to Front Office Sports. Likes include traveling, sports, music and finding photogenic coffee shops.