Ed Sheeran: Interview and ‘+’ Album Review

Arin Segal
A Teen View
Published in
3 min readMay 18, 2012

A few months ago, a friend told me about this singer based in the UK who was a huge hit over there. I checked him out, before any music was even released on iTunes here in the US. And I was impressed by his natural talent to beatbox,sing and rap. The funny thing was this guy was someone one who, if passed on the street, you could walk right by and not know he was a musician.

With his red hair and normal looks, Ed Sheeran is someone who proves why a show like ‘The Voice’ was created. Though he didn’t need to use a TV show to launch his career, he is one of those hidden gems whose music we are occasionally lucky enough to hear. With a debut album to be released June 12 in the US — it is already out overseas — and a tour coming back to the states in the fall, Ed is sure to make a big splash here. Make sure to check out his songs: ‘The A Team’, ‘Give Me Love,’ and ‘You Need Me, I Don’t Need You.’

Arin: What initially got you interested in music as a career?
Ed: It was just a massive hobby that turned into a job. I love playing and creating music, so I’m happy to be able to do it as a living.

A: If someone were to look at your iPod/phone/computer, what music would they see on your current playlist?
E: A lot of hip hop and a lot of folk music. Hopefully they’ll enjoy it.

A: What is your favorite live show part?
E: The most mental crowd participation moments and the most intimate ‘hear a pin drop’ moments.

A: What has been the most inspirational story a fan has told you your music played in their life?
E: I had a fan give me her 18-month sobriety chip the other day, and say that ‘The A Team’ has helped her through that whole experience. It was very real.

A: Who are some of your biggest musical influences?
E: Anyone from Van Morrison to Eminem, I listen to a lot of folk and a lot of rap music.

A: Are there any charities or nonprofits that you are currently involved with?
E: I work a lot with Crisis, they are a brilliant homeless charity in the UK.

A: Although ‘+’ is already out in the UK, what are you most looking forward to about its release in the US?
E: I just can’t wait to tour here. It’s a beautiful country to travel across.

A: What is it like for you when you are in the UK for a long period of time and then come to the US and see the growth of your fan base here?
E: I’ve been kind of travelling the world pushing the music, so watching it grow bit by bit everywhere has been fascinating, America is the final piece of the puzzle.

A: How does social networking help you to stay in touch with your fans all around the world, and what is the best way for someone to catch your attention on Twitter?
E: It’s cool to do quick Q&A’s with fans, and also just update them on your day-to-day routine. The best way to get in contact is the usual way people do it. By getting everyone to retweet them, so it turns up on my timeline I guess.

A: Which song from the album holds the most personal meaning for you?
E: I’d say ‘The A Team.’ It’s been the breakthrough song everywhere I’ve been, and it’s really helped me start off commercially.

A: Who is one artist or producer that you have always wanted to work with?
E: Either DJ premier or Dre.

A: What can fans expect to see from you through the remainder of this year?
E: I’m just gonna keep making the music I love and working as hard as I possibly can.

--

--

Arin Segal
A Teen View

Associate at Prodigy Sports. Contributor to Front Office Sports. Likes include traveling, sports, music and finding photogenic coffee shops.