Erika Jayne

Arin Segal
A Teen View
Published in
3 min readFeb 11, 2012

Although my favorite music tends to circle the singer/songwriter and indie rock categories, I always need good workout and dance music. That is where Erika Jayne comes in. We talked a bit about her dance chart topping singles and what you can expect to see from her this year. Her songs are perfect for your end of the school-year parties or to motivate you at the gym!

Arin: What got you started in music and performing to begin with?
Erika: I started performing for my family basically when I was three years-old, just putting on little shows and my mother finally put me in dance class and local children’s theater and I went to a performing arts high school, its never really stopped, I’ve always just kind of done it.

A: What caused you to decide to move out to LA and pursue music as a career?
E: Well, it’s just a passion I’ve always had and Los Angeles is a place where it was happening so I packed up and moved out west and I love it here.

A: Your first album that came out back in 2009 did really well on the charts, what was your reaction to the success of that?
E: It was really great. You always dream of things going really well, but when they actually happen its kind of incredible.

A: What can people expect to see from you this year?
E: I’m getting to release a new single titled ‘United,’ a full length album is due in the summer, we are touring, and shooting music videos for the new songs.

A: What is the best place for people to stay up to date on your music and hear from you?
E:You can go to my website, erikajayne.com, follow me on Twitter, @erikajayne, MySpace, just Google me, its all there.

A: Who are some of your biggest influences in the music world?
E: I grew up being a Prince, Madonna, Michael Jackson fan; those three are really ones that I love listening to.

A: What is one venue you have always wanted to play?
E: Hmm, O2 Arena.

A: You mentioned you are touring, so what can people expect to see if they come to a show?
E: It’s really feminine, lots of fun, sexy girls, you know. We’re having a good time, we’re partying, the music’s loud, I just want people to have a good time.

A: You have a unique look so where do you get your style?
E: I’m inspired a little bit by S&M fashion, old movie stars like Rita Hayworth, my favorite designer is the late Alexander McQueen, so it comes from a lot of different places.

A: How do you connect with your fans?
E: I’m always tweeting, facebooking, so there’s all of those types of social media outlets and then really just getting out and performing for people.

A: What is your biggest goal this year?
E: More music, more shows, more fun, more dance, more me.

A: What advice do you have for teenagers that want to break into the industry?
E: OK, Study, be patient and get a mentor because you’re going to need it.

--

--

Arin Segal
A Teen View

Associate at Prodigy Sports. Contributor to Front Office Sports. Likes include traveling, sports, music and finding photogenic coffee shops.