Gabe Lopez

Arin Segal
A Teen View
Published in
2 min readApr 11, 2010

Q: What got you into the music industry?
A: There’re been a lot of baby steps. I interned at Epic Records, which was a great learning experience. I worked in the media department, so I would call magazines, newspapers and fanzines all around the country and try to get new albums reviewed. Then I was the studio assistant for Jeff Silbar, who co-wrote “The Wind Beneath My Wings” as well as songs for Johnny Lang and Wynona. I learned a lot of the biz there and producing for various A&R at Capitol, Maverick, and Warner. Then I was writing and producing for other artists while I was performing at The Roxy, The Viper Room and other venues. There was a lot of juggling, but it’s been fun. This past year was pretty cool. I got to produce and write for Joey McIntyre, Varsity Fanclub, Charice, Thomas Fiss and some other great acts.

Q: What is your favorite song you have produced?
A: Ooooooh, that’s a good one. Probably one of the new songs off of my upcoming new album. “Hot Pink” and “Run” were fun to do. And I really liked the production on a song I did with Thomas Fiss called “Her Name Was Missy Something.”

Q: Favorite song you wrote?
A: I think it’s a tie between “One Day,” “Red Queen,” “Mercury” and my next single. I’m keeping the song a secret until it comes out. Haha.

Q: Who would you most like to work with? Why?
A: Sheryl Crow. She is a true musician. A great, great talent.

Q: Do you like singing or producing more? Why?
A: My heart is in performing. Producing is fun because I get to try different genres and work with different people, but my heart is in communicating my songs.

Q: What is your favorite song?
A: Either the Beatles’ “Let It Be” or Tori Amos’ “Silent All These Years.”

Q: Who you you like to tour with?
A: Sheryl Crow. Haha. That would rock!

Q: What is the best advice you have ever been given?
A: Don’t give up. Be persistent. Someone has to make it — why not you?

--

--

Arin Segal
A Teen View

Associate at Prodigy Sports. Contributor to Front Office Sports. Likes include traveling, sports, music and finding photogenic coffee shops.