Gig Morton

Arin Segal
A Teen View
Published in
3 min readNov 28, 2011

You may remember Gig Morton’s voice from his roles in the Air Buddies movies, but Morton is now staring on the show Mr. Young as Derby. We chatted about the show and his acting career. Much like Matreya Fedor, Gig is grounded and a great person both on screen and off! Make sure to watch Mr. Young on Disney/Disney XD or the Family Chanel.

Arin: Your TV show is big in Canada right now, what are you most looking forward to about it coming to the states?
Gig: Just that people, other than in Canada, can enjoy it, because I think it’s a really great show! I think that people will really like it.

A: What’s your character like on the show?
G: My character is basically the goofball. He is Adam Young’s best friend, and he was has a prank on the go. It’s funny because he has lockers all over the school so he has a prank ready in one locker, and it will correspond with something on the other side of the school that has something to do with his other locker.

A: What got you into acting to begin with?
G: Well, when I was seven my sisters were always doing community theater and so my mom and sisters were like, “Oh you should try it!” So I was like, “Oh, I’ll try it but I don’t know if I’ll like it.” So then I auditioned for the Wizard of Oz, and then I got in, and I was like, “Wow! This is really fun!” and I was performing on stage and for me, it was the best thing ever. I just enjoy it so much.

A: You are in the Air Buddies, Snow Buddies, and Santa Buddies series. So what was it like to be a part of those movies?
G: Um, that was actually really fun to be in Air Buddies, and then they brought me back to be in the next three. Which was really nice because I was the only kid to be the same kid in the first four movies, and I loved working with the dogs and the animals in that show were really fun!

A: What are you most looking forward to with your career?
G: My favorite thing about acting is entertaining people getting people to laugh. So basically, I just love it so much that I’m going to continue doing that as long as I can.

A: Are you currently involved in any charities or non-profits?
G: Yeah, I support something called The Covenant House, in Vancouver and they supply housing to homeless youths.

A: Who are some of your role models in the acting world?
G: For me, it’s Jim Carrey, he’s hilarious, I always thought he was hilarious when I was little, and Robin Williams, because he does so many different kinds of roles and different kinds of shows.

A: You have the show going on right now, but are you working on anything else right now?
G: Not at the moment, just school and the show are my main focuses right now!

A: How do you balance school with all the acting?
G: Whenever I’m not on set rehearing or filming I get to go into my trailer or I’m at home doing my homework because I’ve been home schooled since I started doing school.

A: If you had to pick a TV show to guest star on, which one would it be?
G: Oh, probably a cool show to be on would be the “Big Bang Theory,” that’s a really funny show.

A: Are there any shows that you really like?
G: I really like “Fringe” and “House” is really good as well.

A: If you weren’t acting, what do you think you’d be doing?
G: Probably dancing. I take ballet, jazz, musical theater, tap, all those classes. I break dance when I’m not acting, that’s usually what I’m doing.

--

--

Arin Segal
A Teen View

Associate at Prodigy Sports. Contributor to Front Office Sports. Likes include traveling, sports, music and finding photogenic coffee shops.