Marissa Bregman

Arin Segal
A Teen View
Published in
4 min readMay 1, 2011

With the release of her new song Starlight, Marissa Bregman has started to make a splash on the music scene. The last name may sound familiar since Entertainment runs in the family.. Yes her father is movie producer Martin Bregman, but Marissa has made a name for herself too! Check out the interview below:

Q: What prompted you to get into music?
A: You know when I was growing up my parents were both in film. I ended up going for music, which was a surprise to them, because they actually didn’t listen to much music. There wasn’t much music in the house growing up, but when they would take me to the Disney films when I was younger, I was so inspired by them, that I would end up taking the soundtracks home and one movie in particular, when I went to see The Little Mermaid, I knew I wanted to sing after I saw that.

Q: So with both parents being in the industry, was has it been like for you going into music versus someone who might not had started with the opportunities you had?
A: Well, it’s very exciting, it’s been very exciting. I get to do my own thing, really. I get to explore my own feelings, I love it.

Q: How would you describe your sound?
A: I would say the sound is like, um, it’s acoustic based. Very much [like] Colbie Caillat meets Sergeant Pepper, if you will.

Q: Who are some of your major musical influences at the moment?
A: Right now you know, I really love Norah Jones, I think she’s amazing; Colbie Caillat of course; Sara Bareilles I think is fantastic; Lady Gaga is just a whole sphere of her own, but I think she’s great; and Katy Perry of course.

Q: So your new single just came out on iTunes. What has been the reaction to that so far?
A: We had a great reaction, I’m so excited about it being out and available right now. People have been loving it, so it’s just been a really exciting, satisfying feeling.

Q: What’s the inspiration behind the song?
A: The inspiration, really it was the song that started everything off for the entire record. I just found that those words were magic and really painted a great picture that just took me back to childhood, yet still brought me in the moment and kind of moved me forward. It was just a very special song to me, and it still is.

Q: So going more into you, what are some weird hobbies you might have?
A: I guess I’m kind of boring in that way you know, I usually just end up going home and playing guitar and playing on the piano. Actually, I love to walk around the city. That’s one thing I’ll tell you — I love to walk around the city, I always walk to Central Park, which is amazing you know, that we have this property in New York City that takes you out of the hustle-n-bustle for a while, and in every season that it changes I walk the same path, but it’s always different. Also, I guess I love to shop for cool sunglasses downtown.

Q: So, social networking wise, what social networks do you have, and how do you talk with fans on them?
A: Well Facebook has been the main medium right now, and twitter of course. I’ve also been doing ustreams, which have really given me the ability to communicate with fans while I’m planning, and that’s really been great because I get to meet different people all around the world. So, that’s pretty cool, too.

Q: So, what has been the most “out-there” country that you’ve heard a fan has come from?
A: Russia, I would say Russia. It was pretty cool when I was on the ustream a few weeks ago, and then there was somebody else in New Zealand, too. All over, it’s really kind of crazy.

Q: Well, my last questions for you are what kind of goals do you have for your music, in the long run, and who are your one or two artists that you’d love to collaborate with?
A: Keep writing, keep recording, keep playing, and reaching people through my music. And I would say anyone who really loves music. Anyone who loves what they do and I’m a big fan of, who has a real passion. No one in particular, I would say. Just anyone who’s really passionate about their craft in music.

Q: If you had to pick a TV show to put one of your songs on, what show would it be?
A: Oh, I like that. I would a song in Grey’s Anatomy.

--

--

Arin Segal
A Teen View

Associate at Prodigy Sports. Contributor to Front Office Sports. Likes include traveling, sports, music and finding photogenic coffee shops.