Matreya Fedor

Arin Segal
A Teen View
Published in
4 min readJan 9, 2012

A series regular on the hit show Mr. Young, Matreya Fedor knows where she’s going. The show took off in Canada before hitting Disney XD just recently. Fedor is one of the sweetest girls I have had the opportunity of chatting with and knows how to balance the fun of a TV show with the simpleness of real life. You can see Matreya as Echo on Mr. Young where she plays Adam’s(Brendan Meyer) crush, for air dates and more check disney.com!

A: What got you started into acting?
M: I starting acting when I was seven years old, and I had always really been interested in acting because my dad is part of the industry, as well. He never made a move to get me into acting, and my dance teacher suggested I try out for a couple of roles and I get an agent, and I did. It worked out well, so I’ve been acting ever since!

A: Your role on “Mister Young” is what people know you from. What is your role, and how does it relate to you in real life?
M: Well, on “Mister Young,” I play Echo, and Mister Young is my teacher, but he is also my age, and from the first time Mr. Young saw Echo he fell in love with her, and Echo is… she’s very passionate, she’s very intelligent, and she’s your average everyday girl, but she’s the girl next door as well. Echo and I- this is the first role that I’m playing that is the same age as I am in real life — we’re both fourteen. So I find it interesting and new.

A: What other roles have you had in the past that you’ve either had to play someone older or younger?
M: Well, I’ve mostly played younger in my roles because for a long time I was older, but I looked younger. So, I did a lot of commercials when I was thirteen, and I was pretending to be nine. I’ve done a couple of roles, and some where they’re only two or three years younger than me so it’s been pretty close, and I’m very behind with my teeth. So one of the reasons why I do look younger is because I’m missing some teeth and, and I still have some baby teeth! So, I’m a fourteen year old with a twelve year old’s mouth. So a lot of the roles I’ve had in feature films, they prefer you not to have any false teeth or anything because they like the more natural look better. So in feature roles, I often play younger.

A: What’s your favorite role you’ve ever had?
M: Well, I have my top three favorites. My third is the role from when I was younger, that I remember most about- it was a film called “Chaos Theory,” and I did it with Emily Mortimer and Ryan Reynolds, and I played their daughter. It was a really interesting experience because they were the first famous people I’d ever met. It was interesting to be able to work with them, and they were both extremely amazing to work with. They’re both so nice. The second one, would have to be Mr. Young, and this is the set I’ve had the biggest part in. It’s gone on for a year now, and it’s so much fun and we’re all so close; we’re like one big family. The other role that was a lot of fun was a commercial I did, and they flew me out to New York for two days. After that, we got on a cruise ship and went to the Bahamas, and we filmed in the Bahamas for two weeks. So that was amazing to be able to experience.

A: What would be your dream role be if you could act with anyone or be any character?
M: Any role is really interesting to play because you get to take on another persona and get to see the world in a whole other view, so any role would be fun to play. Some of the people I would love to have the opportunity to work with would be Brad Pitt, because he’s one of my favorite actors right now, and I really like Johnny Depp as well. I think they are both very, very talented people. I would love to be able to have the experience to work with both of them.

A: Social network wise — which ones do you currently use?
M: I’m using Facebook (Matreya Fedor) right now and twitter (@matreyafedor) right now.

A: Do you have any charities or non-profits you support?
M: Well, I support a lot of charities and I’m a part of a lot of charities during the year so sometimes I do a clothing drive, and I get everybody on set to bring in their hand me down clothes, so I can bring them to the North Shore Homeless Youth Center. That one’s a very good drive to do. I’m involved in a lot of cancer charities- so for Mr. Young a lot of the cast and crew members have been out and did the Walk for the Cure, and during the summer, I did another Run for the Cure with a lot of friends from my soccer team, and I did the Growth Grind, which is 2.5k of climbing a mountain in Vancouver which was hard, but fun! I like to get involved in a lot of charities because it’s a great way to give back to your community, and I’m so grateful for everything that I have, everything that I’ve been given, and all the opportunities in acting I’ve had. We’re all part of one greater community- so it’s important to give back and show your gratitude.


A: Lastly, what are your biggest goals with acting and your career?
M: I think that if I were to continue acting throughout my whole life, I would like to be successful. I don’t need to be famous or anything, but I just want to be sure that I’m working and that I’ll be able to work fully and know that I won’t have any leg with work. As long as I’m enjoying acting, and I know that I will be getting work, that would be the best dream come true.

--

--

Arin Segal
A Teen View

Associate at Prodigy Sports. Contributor to Front Office Sports. Likes include traveling, sports, music and finding photogenic coffee shops.