Noah Munck

Arin Segal
A Teen View
Published in
4 min readApr 7, 2012

If you don’t know who Noah Munck is you definitely know his character Gibby on iCarly. This Saturday, April 7, iCarly gets a visit from One Direction and Gibby plays their biggest fan. Noah and I chatted about the episode, his role on iCarly, his favorite episodes and how he got into acting. Make sure to tune into Nick to see the episode because this is one you will not want to miss!

Arin: What got you interested in acting in the first place?
Noah: Well, it’s funny because I was not into acting all my life, I was actually a really shy kid growing up. My sister would always put on plays in the backyard and I would always be like ‘oh I don’t wanna do it.’ She started taking acting classes and I would take breakdancing class, surprisingly, and I would always have to wait for her after her acting class to get done and then one day the teacher called me in and I found out I loved it. I just kind of went from there, I got an agent and then booked a few commercials and now I’m on iCarly.

A: What has been your favorite iCarly episode to date?
N: One of my favorites is ‘iQuit iCarly’ where Spencer and I are in a boat launching watermelons, I think that was the most fun to shoot and then the One Direction episode was awesome, it’s a great episode, that’s up there with my favorites.

A: What can fans expect to see with the One Direction episode?
N: Well, definitely One Direction which is huge for us because One Direction has blown up in these past few months and I think they can expect, of course, some awesome music, some Gibby epicness and then more iCarly fun.

A: What was it like working with the guys of One Direction?
N: It was so cool, they’re literally the most down to earth guys you’ll ever meet, they’re a lot of fun to work with.

A: Do you have a favorite line from an episode?
N: I mean a continuous line that’s awesome is ‘Gibbayyyyy’ that’s basically Gibby’s thing now. I think two of my favorite lines are ‘my mom thinks I’m awesome’ and ‘I like to dance with my shirt off,’ those are my two iconic lines that everybody quotes.

A: Do you have people come up to you randomly and quote your lines?
N: Oh yeah! Everybody like anywhere I go, they’re just like ‘Hey Gibby, take your shirt off,’ that’s pretty much all I hear, but it’s good.

A: If you could guest star on any TV Show, do you have your list?
N: Oh yes, I have my list of TV shows. I would love to be on Walking Dead, that’s like my number one and then second is Breaking Bad, so those two.

A: When you get downtime on set, what can people normally find you doing?
N:We hang out. We’re just like normal kids, we play Xbox, we chill, we joke around and that’s like what they’ll find us doing. Resting, going over our lines, it’s a pretty chill set.

A: The show has been going for a while so did you ever expect it to get to the point that it’s gotten to?
N: I don’t think any of us did. I just knew when I started that it was a show with Miranda Cosgrove and I was planed to be on one episode. They just kept bringing my character back and the show has advanced so much into something that’s like a worldwide phenomenon, like it’s crazy. It’s in the White House playing, it’s in Brad Pitt’s house playing, it’s unbelieveable.

A: How have you developed your character over the years?
N: I think Gibby kind of started as this guy who kind of was the weirdo of the group, like really weird, didn’t really like him that much, but of course all the fans love the weirdo character and then I think he’s kind of progressed, he’s still weird, don’t get me wrong, he’s crazy, but he’s kind of progressed into a more suave, cool, ladies man. It’s interesting how we’ve kind of progressed him.

A: If you could work with any actor, who would it be?
N: It has to be Steve Carell, Will Ferrell, Zach Galifianakis, those are my top three, and Brad Pitt definitely.

A: If you could have anyone else come and guest star on iCarly, who would it be?
N: Any of those actors I just listed. I’d also love to have Jennifer Lawrence from The Hunger Games on, that would be pretty awesome.

A: Social networking wise, I know you have your twitter and facebook, so what is the best way for a fan to catch your attention?
N: I’m always on twitter and I respond to a lot of people, so just contact me there or on Facebook and I usually respond to you, so just message me or tweet me.

A: Are there any charities or non profits that you are involved with at the moment?
N: I’m involved in an organization called Camp del Corazon that sends kids with heart disease to a special summer camp that has all the medical supplies they need, so it gives them a normal summer. I also go to Haiti at least once a year and we build houses and microfinance down there. Also I support kids in Malawi through the Global Mission.

A: If you had to pick a song that best describes your life at the moment do you have one?
N: I mostly listen to Dubstep and Bon Iver, so I mean pretty much anything by Bon Iver is my life.

--

--

Arin Segal
A Teen View

Associate at Prodigy Sports. Contributor to Front Office Sports. Likes include traveling, sports, music and finding photogenic coffee shops.