Problem

Arin Segal
A Teen View
Published in
3 min readFeb 13, 2012

For some, music is an outlet to escape daily life and for Problem, it was his way of staying out of trouble. Not only is he a popular musician, he is on his own label which is now signing other artists. We talked about his charity work, label and plans for 2012. Make sure to grab the new album Plan B out in March!

Arin: What got you started in music to begin with?
Problem: Because I didn’t make it to the NBA to be honest. I knew I needed to do something else and it just kinda happened. It was natural, I don’t know where it came from, I never wanted to do it when I was younger, it just kind of fell into my lap and I got addicted to it.

A: Who were some of you musical inspirations’ once you decided to pursue music?
P: I listened to a lot of Eminem around that time because the story was similar and just the way he delivered his message; it was dope. Of course me being from Compton and the west coast and the whole death row area everybody that came from that, I just like a lot of different types of music.

A: You work on your own label, Diamond Lane, so what is it like to have that?
P: I started the Diamond Lane Music Group and its crazy because the guys I work with, we all knew each other before we made this venture so its kind of like we’re friends that turned into business partners so that’s what makes it even cooler that I can know they have my back and not worry about anyone throwing an axe at it.

A: Do you have a favorite track off of ‘Plan B?’
P: There’s so many of them! We’re narrowing it down right now, I would have to say this track I have called ‘Did’ that I produced, I probably like that the most, I just like the whole feeling of it. I’m not putting out anything that I don’t like the most, I’ve got about 12 or 13 of the ones that I dig, I just hope my studio digs those same ones. Overall, I just like the direction it’s going and I love them all.

A: How do you get in touch with fans through social networks?
P: I’m addicted to twitter, I’m not gonna lie, I need to go to a twelve-step program for it. I love Twitter; I hope they never stop it!

A: What has it been like to work with some of the icons of your genre that you have had the opportunity to work with?
P: I was just thinking about that the other day, its just crazy that the people I grew up listening to and wanted to be like would even care about my opinion. Like Pharell is on his way up here right now and that’s crazy, me being able to say that to you.

A: Are there any charities or nonprofits that you support?
P: We just recently did the AIDS walk, it was six and a half miles that was crazy, we had a good time though and we didn’t think we were going to complete it. It was amazing, we had a good time, I felt good when we were done. I have a couple of things that I wanna start, I just haven’t done them yet. I just wanna bring the kids stuff they need like socks and t-shirts, like for me coming from Compton and different things that I saw, just give a kid a pack of fresh t-shirts or something like that.

--

--

Arin Segal
A Teen View

Associate at Prodigy Sports. Contributor to Front Office Sports. Likes include traveling, sports, music and finding photogenic coffee shops.