Russell Howard

Arin Segal
A Teen View
Published in
3 min readApr 11, 2012

As I have said before, singer/songwriters are my favorites and when I hear about a new one I always jump at the opportunity to bring their music to you. Hailing from Dallas, TX, Russell Howard blends the sounds of all different musicians to create his unique tone. His album City Heart is out now and is perfect at any point in the day. He answered a few questions about the music which you can check out below.

Arin: How would you describe your sound?
Russell: My sound is pretty straightforward. A little bit pop, a little bit indie/folk. While there’s some complexity built into the music, I try to present it all in as simple and accessible a way as possible.

A: Who are some of your biggest musical influences?
R: I would love to be a hybrid of James Taylor’s ease, Jeff Buckley’s falsetto, David Gray’s bombast, Counting Crows’ earnestness, John Mayer’s chord progressions, & The Beatles’ arrangements.

A: What got you started in music initially?
R: Well, my parents are both classical musicians, so music was always encouraged and I took violin lessons for years. In highschool I found a ukulele stashed in a closet, learned the four chords I needed and just hammered on that poor little thing for hours. Fast forward to college where I founded an on-campus venue for student bands. I had such a hard time filling the calendar that first semester, about once a month I ended up headlining the venue myself. After a year of performing so regularly, I just couldn’t give it up.

A: What do you find the most difficult part of being an independent artist to be?
R: Getting it all done! Especially as a solo act. Bands can share the load, but as a solo act, everything from the big decisions down to the small details are ultimately up to you. If you’re in it for the long haul, that’s a big responsibility.

A: If you could tell your younger self one thing that you have learned, what would it be?
R: Slow down. My first foray into releasing a record was pretty haphazard. I would tell younger Russell to slow down, set a series of small goals, and take deliberate steps to achieve them. That’s what I’m doing now.

A: What is your favorite song to perform live?
R: It’s changing all the time. There are a couple songs off of the new record that I’ve been playing out for a while, but I hadn’t performed most of them until recently. Right now, a different song seems to poke its head out each show. Of the older songs, definitely Anna’s Waltz.

A: If you could tour with any artist who would it be?
R: David Gray at the height of the White Ladder tour when his guitarist wore that crazy plaid suit. Or Amos Lee. He’s awesome.

A: What charities and nonprofits are you involved with, if any?
R: For the last couple of years I’ve been involved with fostering animals and more recently with local food advocacy. On my list of small goals is to advocate, officially, for a charity. I’d love to do something with Habitat for Humanity.

A: How do you use social networking to connect with fans and what is the best way for a fan to reach out to you?
R: I’m still figuring that out. Facebook and twitter are great for getting in touch, but as far as engaging fans, I’m a big fan of the newsletter. It’s in your inbox until you delete it and has just a little more permanence than a tweet or a status update.

A: What is your favorite song lyric that you have written?
R: Pretty much the whole song ‘Home Sweet Home.’ Especially the bridge: my heart is not my own.

--

--

Arin Segal
A Teen View

Associate at Prodigy Sports. Contributor to Front Office Sports. Likes include traveling, sports, music and finding photogenic coffee shops.