Tyson Ritter

Arin Segal
A Teen View
Published in
6 min readJul 10, 2012

As I get ready for college, I keep hearing that it’s the time to find myself; but it’s not just in college when someone discovers new things, I feel like I am constantly learning who I am and becoming me. Tyson Ritter, known for his role as lead singer of The All American Rejects, is not in college and he isn’t 18; but most may not know that before the latest album, he had started to lose himself and so he too needed to figure out who he was and where he wanted to go. After a chance encounter with Charity: Water, Ritter, with a heavy heart from the tragedy of Haiti, set out on a new mission: to help those in Haiti. Recently, he partnered with Valiant Watches to create a custom watch; proceeds from the sale will go to help Charity: Water. With a new album and his priorities in order, Ritter is back on track. Although he is overseas, he took some time to answer a few questions about the charity and how he got involved.

Arin: Most people forget about a natural disaster after it happens; what made you pick Haiti as the foundation for your charity?
Tyson: When I first set out to write my new record Kids in the Street, I was really in a lost place in life. As I awoke the morning of the earthquake, I was shaken by what I saw. Here were hundreds of thousands of people with their lives in tatters, and there I was: in a bathrobe, sitting on a comfy couch in LA. I’d say it was an awakening to my spirit. It gave me something to fight for in life, and I intend to stay up in arms for the people of Haiti [for] as long as I breathe.

A: Why the name “Don’t Hate on Haiti”?
T: Since the disaster, the coverage and outreach for Haiti has calmed down significantly. What most people don’t realize is that this country will be re-building their lands for the next 30 YEARS! That is astounding to me; and so, to ignore this or turn a blind eye to the problems with Haiti is “hating” on Haiti. So ergo the moniker, “don’t hate on Haiti”. It’s not meant to be cruel; it’s just a snappy little name for it and it strikes a chord with people when they see it.

A: You partner with Charity: Water, how did you initially hear about them?
T: I just happened on this invitation to a presentation that Charity: Water’s founder Scott Harrison was doing in a small home in Venice Beach, CA. I went, and his story blew me away. He spoke of his dreams of giving clean water to the 1 billion people in this world without access to it, and that’s when I honed in that my foundation should make that my focus in Haiti. The cholera outbreaks and awful sanitation issues made it more than clear that this is where we should start with Don’t Hate on Haiti. I spoke to Scott about it, and he and the staff at Charity: Water were excited to hit the ground running with me.

A: How did you come up with the design for the watch? What do you love most about it?
T: My dear friend, Jackie Petri, just happened to be really tight with Tracy and Chris at Valiant Watches, and [she] pitched the idea of a collaboration between them and DHOH. They totally went for it and were really hands on with me on designing the watch. What’s unique about Valiant Watches is [that] they are an affordable watch you can make your own by piecing it together. Everything, from the watch bands to the face of the watch itself, are interchangeable; so putting mine together was actually cool. They gave me a briefcase with all their goodies in it, and I got to play “build a watch”. The color pattern of the piece is that of the Hatian Flag; a blue face, red ring, and white bands made it an appropriate tribute to the great country in need. What inspires me is that when I look at my wrist now, I know I’m making a difference.

A: What has been the most inspirational story you have heard from the work you are doing?
T: When Charity: Water sent me the first update about the well DHOH funded in Caracol, a village in central Haiti, I was floored! I mean, here’s this place so far away from me, with 2500 residents; and with a little good will, we managed to help provide them with clean water? That’s sweeter than YooHoo. To see pictures of the village residents around the well and smiling was truly a heartwarming moment. I’m hoping to go down there and visit, after my record cycle is over, and play a show for them…

A: With the platform you have as a musician, how do you try and spread the word about the cause?
T: Well since I don’t know Bono personally, I’ve had a lot of trial and error. I designed and printed a shirt that I sell on the site which is 100% non-profit. I pay out of pocket for the T-shirt as well as the printing, but that wasn’t sparking enough interest for me. So I decided to get guerrilla when I set out on the 2010 Vans Warped Tour and sell myself for Haiti. Armed with a bullhorn, my DHOH t-shirt, and some xeroxed hand fliers with our mission statement printed on them. I took pictures for donations. I sold my kisses for $20 a pop (THAT is dedication); really anything that kids would donate for I would humor. In 19 days I raised $19,000! Since then, we have done auctions and set up a PayPal account on the site so people can do direct donations; but this is only the beginning…

A: Did your work with Haiti inspire any of the songs on the new album?
T: I think that starting donthateonhaiti.org really helped save me in a big way; and without it not only would I not have my new record, but I think I would have lost myself even more.

A: Although you are on tour all over the world and busy promoting Kids In The Street, how do you find the time to still focus on your charity?
T: It gets a bit rough out here on the road as every day runs faster and faster into another, but I’ve recently gathered another set of hands to help me with it all. My friend, Jackie, is at the helm of the twitter account (@donthateonhaiti). My video director, Jon, helps with the digital; and my merchandise guy for The Rejects keeps up with the T-shirt side of things. Even though the road is fast, there’s a lot of down time to take care and maintain the foundation.

A: Has there been a moment where a fan has come up to you after a show or on the street just to thank you for what you are doing — not ask for an autograph or photo — just say a simple thank you?
T: I had a woman come up to me the other night simply smile, put down a present, and walk away. As I opened this gift, I found inside a small porcelain well with a one hundred dollar bill inside. It’s selflessness like this that humbles me in a big way. She wasn’t there to get anything from me, just to give. To witness such a pleasant side of humanity in these times is what drives me to continue.

A: What do you love most about touring?
T: Touring is like turning into Peter Pan. Everyday is a new adventure and new pairs of ears to turn on to our music. What’s not to love about that? It’s like that movie Groundhog’s Day with Bill Murray, except on a bus… What I love most about it is the show. Performing is my life.

A: Do you have a favorite song off the new album?
T: My favorite song off Kids In The Street is called “Heartbeat Slowing Down.” It’s the most perfect song I think this band has written, and writing it was a big step for me personally. This whole record is pretty much about finding yourself in your mid twenties, and I’m proud to say that starting donthateonhaiti.org was a great compass for me to do so.

--

--

Arin Segal
A Teen View

Associate at Prodigy Sports. Contributor to Front Office Sports. Likes include traveling, sports, music and finding photogenic coffee shops.