2022 Series Catch Up

Book series I want to continue with in 2022

Victoria Buckman
A Thousand Lives
7 min readJan 8, 2022

--

A representation of the action I must do every day this year to complete this list. Photo by Laura Chouette on Unsplash

The biggest struggle I have with book series is actually completing them. As a mood reader, I struggle to read series all the way to the final book no matter how much I am enjoying the series.

I decided to compile a list of the books that I need to read to complete/continue the 15 book series that I have started. I say continue for some as they are either really long or are ongoing.

The Winterhouse Trilogy by Ben Guterson

In November, I read the first Winterhouse book for the Believeathon hosted by Gavin from How to Train Your Gavin on YouTube. In the first book, WInterhouse Elizabeth Sommers is sent to live at a hotel while her aunt and uncle go on a three-week vacation.

While at the hotel Elizabeth and her new friend solve various puzzles related to the hotel. I loved the first book, from the characters to the puzzles and the winter vibes. Since this series is set in the winter, I want to finish it before the end of February. I need to read the second book, The Secrets of Winterhouse and the Winterhouse Mysteries.

Pages & Co by Anna James

I also started reading this series during the Believeathon by reading books one through three. After that, it became one of my favorite series of all time. As of now, there are four books in this series.

Book one is The Bookwanderers, book two is The Lost Fairy Tales, book three is the Map of Stories, and book four is The Book Smugglers. Book four is the last book I need to read to catch up with the series. In book one, The Bookwanderers, Tilly Pages and her friend Oskar discover that they can wander into the books they read.

With this discovery comes the discovery that there is a whole secret society of bookwabderers across the globe. We follow Till and Oskar as they figure out this new world and get into shenanigans worthy of two ten-year-olds who discovered they could wander into books. If you enjoy reading middle grade in any capacity, pick up this book series.

Kingdom of the Wicked by Kerri Maniscalco

If you have spent any amount of time on Tik Tok, then you have probably heard about Kingdom of the Wicked by Kerri Maniscalco.

In the first book, a witch gets the help of one of the seven princes of hell to help solve the murder of her twin sister. The sequel Kingdom of the Cursed came out at the end of 2021, so I need to read that one. If the third book Kingdom of the Feared, comes out in 2022, I will also make an effort to read that one. Depending on the publication date of Kingdom of the Feared, I have either one or two books added to my TBR.

Princess Academy by Shannon Hale

Several years ago, I read the first book in this series, Princess Academy, and then reread it for the Believeathon. Princess Academy follows Miri as she attends the princess academy.

The academy was set up to teach girls from a remote mountain village how to be the princess after it is prophesied that the prince’s wife will come from that village. I love this book because I love fairy tales and fairy tale retellings. Shannon Hale created her own fairy tale with this series. I have only read the first book in this series so far, so I have to read books two and three, Palace of Stone and The Forgotten Sisters.

Ouran High School Host Club by Bisco Hatori

I watched the anime for Ouran High School Host Club for years. A couple of years ago, I bought the box set. I have since read volumes one through nine.

I want to finally complete this series by reading volumes nine through eighteen. This series follows a female student who receives a scholarship from a rich high school. While looking for a quiet place to study, she stumbles across a host club and ends up joining said host club.

Sailor Moon Eternal Editions

After watching the anime for years, I finally decided to read the manga.

I have purchased the series on Kindle with the larger eternal editions. I have read volumes one and two. To catch up on the series, I need to read volumes three through ten. I also need to read the Sailor V eternal edition that has been released.

Lady Frances FFolkes by RJ Koreto

Lady Frances FFolkes is a historical mystery series that I started reading two years ago. I have read the first two books, Death on the Sapphire and Death Among Rubies.

To catch up with the series, I need to read the third book, Death at the Emerald. In the first book, Death on the Sapphire, lady France FFolkes investigates the death of a family friend linked with a costly event during the Boer War.

Fairy Tail by Hiro Mashima

Fairy Tail is another anime that I have been watching for years. I have made my way through 38 of the 63 volumes of the main storyline of the series. I also want to read the spin-off mini-series that follow the Fairy Tail characters. These spin-offs are:

  • Fairy Tail 100 Year Quest Volumes 9 and 10
  • Rhodonite
  • Twin Dragons of Sabertooth
  • Lightning Gods
  • Fairy Tail Zero
  • Ice Trail volumes one and two
  • Fairy Tail S volumes one and two
  • Fairy Girls volumes one through four
  • Fairy Tail: City Hero volumes one through four
  • Blue Mistral volumes one through four
  • Happy’s Heroic Adventure volumes one through eight

Nancy Drew by Carolyn Keene

I do not plan to read the entire Nancy Drew series this year. That is a whole year’s worth of reading right there as there are about 160 books starting with The Secret of the Old Clock and the end of the main series, excluding spin-offs published in the early 2000s.

I grew up reading Nancy Drew. I read them out of order as a kid. I have started reading the series in order; I have completed books one and two. For 2022 I plan to read the series's next books: The Bungalow Mystery, The Mystery at Lilac Inn, The Secret of Shadow Ranch, and The Secret of Red Gate Farm. Reading more would be great as the books are short, fun and there are many, but reading four more is the realistic goal that I am setting for myself.

Nancy Drew Diaries by Carolyn Keene

The Nancy Drew Diaries is the modern Nancy Drew series. So far, 22 books have been published, and I have read all 22 of them.

The series is ongoing, so there will be more books published in 2022. The first book published this year and book 23 in the series is The Blue Lady of Coffin Hall. The first book is The Curse of the Arctic Star for those of you who may want to read this Nancy Drew Series.

Wayward Children by Seanan MaGuire

I started reading this series shortly after the second book came out. I absolutely love this series. Down Among the Sticks and Bones and Come Tumbling Down are my favorite.

The Wayward Children series is a series of novellas about kids who travel to different worlds and what happens when they return to the “real” world. To catch up on the series, I have two more books to read Across Green Grass Fields and Where the Drowned Girls Go.

Rainbow Grey by Laura Ellen Anderson

Here we have yet another series that I started for the Believeathon. The first book in the series is Rainbow Grey.

In the book, Ray is a weatherling without any weather-related powers. During the magic solstice, Ray gains the powers of a rainbow weatherling. The problem is that Ray does not have anyone to teach her her new powers as rainbow weatherlings are extinct. I enjoyed this book and want to read the sequel, Eye of the Storm, when it comes out later this year.

Amelia Fang by Laura Ellen Anderson

Amelia Fang is a seven-book series that I have been reading for about two years now. To catch up on the series, I only need to read the last book, The Trouble with Toads.

The series follows Amelia Fang and her friends as they go on various adventures throughout Nocturnia and Glitteropolis. This book series is a lot of fun, and I am excited to see what this adventure holds for Amelia and her friends.

W.I.T.C.H. Graphic Novels by Elisabetta Gnome

Some of you may have watched the W.I.T.C.H. cartoon when it aired on Jetix (back when Jetix was still a thing). This graphic novel series is a republication by Disney of the series that was originally published in Italy.

As of right now, there are 27 volumes in the series, and it does look like there will be more published. So far, I have read 22 out of the 27 volumes. The volumes that I have left to read are:

  • W.I.T.C.H.: The Graphic Novel, Part VIII. Teach 2b W.I.T.C.H. Vol. 23
  • W.I.T.C.H.: The Graphic Novel, Part VIII. Teach 2b W.I.T.C.H. Vol. 24
  • W.I.T.C.H.: The Graphic Novel, Part VIII. Teach 2b W.I.T.C.H. Vol. 25
  • W.I.T.C.H.: The Graphic Novel, Part IX. 100% Witch Vol. 26
  • W.I.T.C.H.: The Graphic Novel, Part IX. 100% Witch Vol. 27

This is a lot more daunting when written than when I thought about it. However, this list is only one book shy of my 100 book goal for the year. I also doubt that I will read all of the books on this list, but it sure would be cool if I did.

What book series do you want to catch up on this year?

--

--

Victoria Buckman
A Thousand Lives

There are three main passions that I have in life: books, coffee, and history. I have decided to write about them.