Confessions of a Serial Book Sniffer

It’s time to come out and be honest with you…

Trisha Dunbar (She/Her)
A Thousand Lives

--

Photo by Rainier Ridao on Unsplash

My name is Trisha, and I must confess I am a serial book sniffer. Once I get a new book, the first thing I do is stick it up my nose. Although I am pleased to say, I am not alone in this!

In a poll that was also shared on Twitter, 22.9% of you also sniffed books. I am not sure how this started, but I have been sniffing books since I was a little girl. The scent tells a story new book, a library book, an old book. It’s part of the wider sensory experience because, oh yes, I also like to run my hands over it whilst salivating and then make a cup of coffee. 11.4% of you agreed on that too.

Although I have to admit I’ve moved on to other media now, so it’s not just books anymore. I’m afraid to say I am mixing — magazines, brochures, and even catalogues. My nose is straight there as if an unconscious decision has occurred, and I am sorry to say I can not stop myself.

The scent of things behind closed doors

When I visit the public library, it’s so hard not to stick the book straight to my nose. My book sniffing is done in private with no prying eyes to judge my weird obsession. To me, there is nothing more satisfying than inhaling the pages of books.

--

--

Trisha Dunbar (She/Her)
A Thousand Lives

🧠 Sharing my journey #100daysof... challenges 💪 Fitness & Health 📖Reading for Growth | ✍ Writing for Self-Expression 🦣@trishadunbar@me.dm