My Struggle to Crack Open a Book

Do I still enjoy reading?

Vivian Stevenson
A Thousand Lives
2 min readMar 30, 2022

--

Photo by cottonbro from Pexels

Reading has been a reliable hobby and an escape for about four years. I even finished reading 90 books in one year, a personal record for me. I would indulge in all formats — physical books, ebooks, and audiobooks. It’s been an absolute dream hobby and wonderful community to be part of.

What happened?

It wasn’t unusual for me to hit a slump, but it would pass me after a week-long break.

Unfortunately, everything changed after I went through my breakup in 2021. The hobby stopped being a priority, but I was hopeful it would come back after I landed on my feet. It’s been almost a year, and that adoration for books hasn’t returned. I think a lot of it has to do with the stress of living on my own for the first time.

I’m bummed because it helped me find a corner on the internet where I felt like I belonged. It always gave me something to do when I was bored. I even found real-life friendships via the adoration of reading.

What’s next?

I’ll probably pick up a book here and there, but I’ve stopped forcing myself to read. That only makes the hobby feel like a chore. Books will always be there, should I choose to return to them.

I also don’t think I should keep books on my shelves that I’m not excited about. If you asked me what most of the books are about, I couldn’t tell you. I guess that means it’s time for spring cleaning.

Last-ditch effort

Rereading an all-time favorite book is my plan b. The two options I often think about are, This Tender Land by William Kent Krueger or The House in the Cerulean Sea by T.J. Klune. Both stories were unforgettable and, at the time I read them, reminded me why I love reading.

I never reread books because there are so many books out there. I would only do this if I became desperate to read. This hasn’t happened…yet.

Final thoughts

The lesson I’ve learned from all of this is that it’s okay to take a break, however long it might be. It doesn’t mean I don’t love reading. That was my initial thought after months of not picking up a book. Life gets tough at times, and everyone handles that in their own way. It’s all valid.

--

--

Vivian Stevenson
A Thousand Lives

An avid reader who dabbles in art and baking along the way.