Reading ‘The Lord of The Rings’ Changed the Way I Think About Diversity and Life

Tolkien blew my mind (again)

Aldric Chen
A Thousand Lives

--

Image by Colin Behrens from Pixabay

If you think we are living in a crazy world — think again.

The World J.R.R. Tolkien constructed known as The Lord of the Rings is crazier than real-life Mother Earth in 2021. There, the Free Peoples of Middle Earth go crazy chasing after jewels, rings, and land. Here, we go nuts over cryptocurrencies.

I re-read The Lord of the Rings over the weekend to incorporate the Quenya language in my stories. I wanted to speak Elvish too.

You know, I tried. That’s all I am saying.

While I failed to sound proficient in Elvish, I extracted new takeaways from the classic.

Tolkien’s World celebrates diversity, hard work, and life.

Males Are Presented In Different Forms

The long list of males in different forms include Elves, Men, Dwarves, Hobbits, Wizards, Orcs, Uruk-Hais, Nazgul.

They play with different toys. Elves with bow, arrows, spells, and swords. Men with swords and spears. Wizards walk with their staff, and hobbits smoke a pipe.

The best story in the 3rd Age covers a Hobbit’s journey dumping that Wretched Ring into…

--

--

Aldric Chen
A Thousand Lives

24x Top Writer (as of June 2023). Serial eavesdropper. I capture interesting & uncomfortable real-life retirement / work-life stories the way they are.