The Author I Fell in Love with This Year: Mark Edwards

I am always excited when I discover a new author because it allows me to immerse myself into their entire catalogue

Kathkirklandauthor
A Thousand Lives

--

https://www.pexels.com/photo/smiling-woman-holding-a-book-in-library-2879594/
Picture by Pamela Araujo, via Pexels.com

There is nothing I like more than hunting charity shops for books and discovering new authors I may never have found otherwise.

One book I discovered on my charity shop hunt this year was, The Retreat by Mark Edwards:

The story is of Julia, who lost her daughter and husband two years ago. Julia opens her house as a writers retreat, and many aspiring writers come and stay. The retreat has a series of eerie events. The guests try to uncover the dark secret of the woods, where Julia’s daughter and husband drowned.

The novel appealed to me, as the setting was a writers retreat. It was a gripping read that I didn’t put down until I had finished it. It kept me guessing until the end.

The novel appealed to me, as the setting was a writers retreat. It was a gripping read that I didn’t put down until I had finished it. It kept me guessing until the end.

I then looked up his other work and discovered he had written; What You Wish For, Because She Loves Me, Follow You Home, The Devil’s Work, The Lucky Ones, In Her Shadow, Here To Stay and The

--

--