March 2019 Coffee Conversations

Sarah Kay Hoffman
A Thyme for Milk and Honey
6 min readMar 31, 2019

I always used to do personal monthly recap updates via A Gutsy Girl and the “Catch Up Over Bone Broth” series. It’s still important for me to do these because I have loved sitting down to share with you all the things while simultanesouly watching as our family and life evolves.

The difference, now, is that we will be having straight coffee conversations (vs. bone broth). Topics I covered before included: health, fitness, professional, personal and family.

Now I’m just sharing a monthly recap, mostly personal and family because that’s what A Thyme for Milk and Honey is. Everything can be wrapped into one.

Mmmmmkay?! So grab that cup of coffee, and let’s sit down together.

February 2019 Coffee Conversations

By the way, during the transition from A Gutsy Girl over here, I didn’t do February. In a nutshell, the best parts of February included:

  1. An energy healing session.
  2. Trip to Sedona with my BFF’s
  3. My birthday party
  4. Completion of the first month as Chief Storyteller at Delighted By Hummus

Energies

Number 1 and number 4 go together. I swear, if the entire natural food industry ran their business with the same care and respect for both product and people as Delighted By Hummus, the industry would be one desired by every last person to be part of.

Makenzie, Delighted By Hummus founder (and personal mentor + friend of mine), gifted us all with an Energy Leadership Assessment and then a 90-minute personal session with this woman named Natalie to dig deep into the results. I didn’t only learn about where my energies lie during the good days and stressful days, but instead deep things about me as an individual.

The things we uncovered went hand-in-hand with all the work I’ve been doing these past several months on my own. It was so good.

Sedona

February was a month filled with a lot of energies (and snow, ha Minnesnowta). Sedona = all the good energy.

I took a trip with my three BFF’s to Sedona. I’m still trying to compile all the pictures for one post here. If you’ve never been to Sedona, go.

36th Birthday

I threw myself a 36th birthday party — just because. Don’t act like a party to celebrate your own life isn’t fun. It totally is, and if you’ve never done it, consider one for your next birthday.

I swear, my life is totally typical and nothing at all typical. Onto March….

March 2019 Coffee Conversations

I won’t lie. March felt like a very long month. I was sick for most of it, which is super rare. Since getting my tonsils out years ago, rarely do I get sick. But it hit me during March and it’s lingered.

Still, the highlights for March included:

  1. Expo West in Anaheim
  2. Signs of warmer weather and spring
  3. Our hometown boys making it all the way to the state championship basketball game
  4. The Book Deal that Almost Was
  5. Growing babies
  6. The house

Expo West

This one doesn’t need much explanation, since I’ve been going for years. I also did a full recap on the show HERE. What I love most about the show is that I get to see friends I only see about once per year. Like every other industry, it’s a small one once you’ve been in it long enough. The industry is filled with some very cool people that I enjoy seeing.

Warmer Weather

The answer is, “No.” No, I still do not regret moving back to Minnesota even after a winter like we just had. One reason is the warmer weather now. I absolutely love the change of seasons. I love that after a brutal winter always comes spring and summer. We were never very grateful for a 50–60 degree day in California; here, it’s like Christmas when it finally hits!

Warmer weather means playing outside, which means a happier life for everyone!

Basketball

It was so cool watching the high school boy’s basketball team make it to the state tournament, and then give it a go all the way to the championship game. I don’t ever remember a town rallying and supporting a team the way this town did when we lived in California. The stadium was painted in blue and gold and everywhere you went in March around town seemed like a big celebration. That’s totally life in a small town.

The Book Deal that Almost Was

I shared about the book deal that almost was this past week. You don’t understand how that could be a highlight for the month, but it actually is. Because it put motion into what I’ll do next; how I move forward. In fact, it’s pretty exciting that I even got that far with the chance to write my own book. Because of it, I know it’s going to happen!

Growing Babies

I call it baby-mode and human-mode. All three have reached that human-mode; you know, the one where you can start to have normal conversations and feel like you’re getting somewhere when words come out of their mouths. I think we’ve pretty much arrived to human-mode (though at any given moment, any one of the three reverts back to baby-mode).

Samarah is getting super tall. Nothing fits in her waist because she needs sizes that will fit her length and she’s still too tiny. That little Preemie is in the 92nd percentile for height, and I swear she’s on a growth spurt currently.

Isaiah is still eating us out of house and home, and his stomach is improving! I had a spit-my-coffee-out laugh on Friday when his teacher emailed me and said that when he’s going to the bathroom, he likes to count in German (they are learning numbers up to 19).

Amiya is talking so much now. Her favorite phrase, “I want a banana,” and “I hold you.” (= you hold me) When I put her hair “in pretties,” I think she looks so old.

People are always asking me how they get along — are they like “normal siblings?” Yes, yes, and more yes. They play super well one second and fight like crazy the next. They pair off, two at a time a lot, but then return to the three of them again.

The House

“The walk” is what I refer to as that time span from our bedroom until you hit the other end of our house on the first floor.

This past month, I adored every last thing about “the walk.” What is it? It’s a lengthy walk that includes window-upon-window where you get a view of all the things; trees, leaves, snow, the lake, icicles, the sun and moon, squirrels and birds, all of it.

It is so perfect and calm.

Okay, this was super long today. One month at a time next!

Xox, SKH

--

--