A Tired Heroine’s Manifesto

sofia (sof) sears
A Tired Heroine
Published in
9 min readOct 29, 2018

--

made on canva!

A room of one’s own. Virginia Woolf, but expanded. Widened. Reinvented. Make the room a planet. A universe. Writers have been undoing the closeness of that room since it was built. I want to pay tribute to that reinventing, that great and endless recreation, through this platform. I want to carve a space, intimate and bright with thought, with creativity, in the ether of the Internet. For young people to converse and connect over the medicine and wound at the heart of so many lives — books. To read with feminism like a lifeblood changes how you read at all. There are all these wonderful people remaking the literary norms of the exclusive past, redefining all of those stiff institutions. I want to, in my very small way, gather some of these voices, coalesce them into a publication, into a tangible, illuminated medium. That is why I so believe in this publication’s potential and why I so believe in books at all- they spur creation by merely existing. They spur creativity, reflection, and invention. I want this space to do that, to amplify the heartbeats of writers and artists that the mainstream still represses, still quiets. To say, this prickling, boundless, complicated bloodrush of mine means something, duh, and here’s the place to make it heard.

A Tired Heroine is that for me, will be a compendium of these voices. Not as a savior but as a sounding board, a greenhouse warm and dense with selves…

--

--

sofia (sof) sears
A Tired Heroine

#1 shirley jackson stan. writer of many feminist/queer/monstrous things. subscribe to: heartmouth.substack.com. read my work at sofsears.com