Happy Birthday to Me!

Or, 26 is not a super fun one…

Aimée
OUR TRUST FUND
4 min readNov 16, 2020

--

Welp, I guess I’m 26 now! Nowadays, this is a much-feared birthday for many. Simply put, turning 26 = kissing your parents’ health insurance goodbye. What a wonderful healthcare system we have, right? Just the other day, one of my closest friends had to use superglue on her wounded finger because she doesn’t have health insurance to cover the cost of stitches. You guessed it — she recently turned 26.

This is one of many reasons I’m grateful to be employed by the City of New York. I’ve actually been on my own health insurance for over a year, ever since I accepted my first full-time teaching job. My insurance is way cheaper and way better than my dad’s was, so switching over immediately was a no-brainer. Another thing I love about my job (which I’ve mentioned before) is that I am directly (and rather handsomely) compensated for my additional levels of education. A coworker who started teaching at the same time as me but only has her Bachelor’s, as opposed to my two Master’s, makes around $15K less than I do.

But I’m not here to brag. I’m here to say that, in spite of all the wonderful things about my job — the benefits, the pay, the fantastic coworkers — I honestly feel a little bit trapped.

I really have been loving this year. At my school, where we’ve been (more or less) successfully following a blended learning model since October 1, it feels like we’re in our own little world. We’re obviously wearing masks, constantly sanitizing, and adhering to an array of other health and safety measures, but mainly, we are teaching. And the kids are actually learning! Distractions are limited, moods are generally good, and fruitful discussion is happening in all classrooms. (There’s now talk in NYC of having schools go fully remote again, which I’m honestly kind of bummed about…but I’ll wait to write about that until it actually happens).

As crazy as it sounds, what I’m worried about is how I’ll handle my job when things go “back to normal.” Do I really want to spend five periods a day in a room with 30 rude ass teenagers who don’t even have the decency to give me 10 minutes of their time, much less the whole 42 minutes? Yes, I had some great times last year, and I still adore many of my former students, but overall, the job was incredibly stressful. This year, in spite of the ongoing pandemic, I pretty much never feel the kind of physical stress I felt almost every day last year. I never dread going to school in the morning — not even in the slightest. Of course, some of this could just be because I’m no longer a first year teacher and have gained some confidence in myself. But I think the main factor at play is the marked difference in the way my school is operating now: drastically reduced class sizes, alternating groups of kids, and no need for bullshit written lesson plans because there are (currently) no bullshit observations.

Do I love teaching? Yes. Especially the kind of teaching I get to do these days. But I don’t know if I can do the “normal” way for 30+ years. I don’t even know if I can do it for the 10 or 15 years I need to qualify for a pension. The thing is, though…I kind of have to. How could I step away from a job that pays me extra for the degrees I have? I have two English degrees and one English education degree, for crying out loud. Nobody else wants that! Even private schools and other states’ public schools don’t appreciate those degrees enough to pay me more. Also, how could I step away from $0 copays, dental and optic, and paid maternity leave? I know there are many people who wish to change the American healthcare system, but I can’t bank on that happening any time soon. Thinking long term, knowing (thinking?) that I want to have children at some point, I need to be able to provide them with the best insurance possible. In Mike’s line of work, you’re a lot less likely to find the kind of benefits a New York City DOE teacher gets.

Sooooo yeah. On my 25th birthday, I was having a lovely time at a 70s-themed bar on the Upper East Side with several of my closest friends. On my 26th birthday, I’m worrying about the sustainability of my career, the lives of my future hypothetical children, and the STILL ever-present threat of COVID. That being said, I’m truly so happy to spend the day with my wonderful coworkers, my super sweet students, and my charming boyfriend. Happy birthday to me!

--

--