Day 24.1

Camponaraya to Trabadelo: 25 Kilometres

Eugénie Kadid Sayegh
A Walking Miracle
Published in
4 min readMay 6, 2021

--

Wilma woke me up from my deep sleep at 6 a.m. The Albergue was warm; all the heaters ran throughout the night. Fortunately, there was no snoring despite the fact two men were sharing the same room. My hay fever symptoms subsided; my eyes were no longer swollen, and my throat no longer ached. The positive energy in the room gave me a boost. We joined others, preparing for the day in the open lounge area downstairs. It was breakfast time. We enjoyed the usual pan tostado and marmalade and a nice cup of café con leche. The host, a caring and generous gentleman served us. We were ready for the day.

We became professionals at packing and unpacking our bags, as well as dressing in a flash. We geared up in no time. Our day started on a high positive note. We walked along the roads of Camponayara, it was quiet, and everyone in the village seemed fast asleep. The Ermita Nuestra de La Soledad was closed, as well as most of the churches. I said a quick prayer outside. The smell of freshly baked bread hung in the air. Wilma and I were prepared for another great day. Her blistered feet started to heal, and my hay fever symptoms were gone. As we walked through the village, we felt that it would never end as it was a very long narrow village.

The landscape after Camponayara grew more attractive. We walked through pleasant vineyards and orchards. I loved the open space, the rolling hills, the patches of forest, the farmland, and the vineyards' picturesque views. The fresh air, the sound of rivers, the open skies, and the tranquillity had an incredibly calming effect. I prayed my rosary aloud; no one was around me. A father and his son passed us on their tractor. I thought the people in this area were some of the most fortunate people on earth due to their surroundings.

My eyes caught a small white split level house at the top of the hillside with a view of the surrounding vineyards. Three giant trees towered over the house and provided shade. I wished I could live there, away from the entire world. Places like that made me become lost in thought. Was I happy where I lived? Was this how I plan to carry on with my contradictive life once I am back? Numerous and confusing questions kept on popping into my bewildered mind. Why was I here? Was it a calling from God? A calling from his Saints? Or was it just a calling of making me conscious?

I battled to gather my thoughts. I felt that I faced so many dilemmas. A powerful force tested me, tested my faith, my soul, and my mind. It weighed me down for a moment. I teetered between extreme high and low spirits throughout the morning. What was happening to me? I wanted to stay there. I tried to stand still and scream for someone to save me from everything my mind went through. I did not wish for more negativity in my life. Truthfully, I did not know what I wanted. I wreaked havoc with profound and unfathomable pain. I hid what I felt, which took a psychological toll. “Help me,” I cried out! I was numb; I felt myself changing. I burst into tears, the tears of silence. Why did I crack? I loved so much in my life that I lost myself. No one hurt me. My eagerness, confidence, and presumptions let me down. Let me hide my pain with my smile and carry on. Enough! Enough struggling to hold on. Then, like a child quieting down after a tantrum, I blinked back my tears and decided to re-join my mate.

I did not want Wilma to feel what I went through. I wasted time lingering to distract myself from the thoughts that were ruining me emotionally and spiritually.

Descents dominated the section. With our energy renewed and again travelling along with fields of vines, we crossed a local road before stepping on asphalt until we arrived at a resting area, which offered a short rest before descending to Cacabelos. We reached Cacabelos after 5.7 kilometres. I liked the name; it rolled off my tongue when I said it. The village was previously known as Ventosa.

--

--