The Technology in Our Lives

About Facebook: If you think this has a happy ending, you haven’t been paying attention.

What do Ramsay Bolton, Sansa Stark, and Mark Zuckerberg have in common?

Dwade Kearns
A Windy Life

--

Remember Game of Thrones, the HBO TV series we all cherished until a wrecked final season?

While torturing Theon in season three, the infamously sickening Ramsay Bolton shared a piece of wisdom with his victim: “If you think this has a happy ending, you haven’t been paying attention.”

I still have nightmares about Ramsay Bolton. Yes, I’m an overly sensitive guy, and images of extreme torture haunt me. That’s why I couldn’t watch Criminal Minds. I loved the psychological part of the TV series, but I couldn’t stand the gratuitous scenes of violence the producer felt the need to include in the final product.

The only offensive scene of violence I have ever been able to watch was Sansa Stark unleashing Ramsay’s hungry hounds on him.

In any case, that quote from Ramsay Bolton popped into my mind this morning.

Uh? What does that have to do with Facebook?

This morning, while catching up on news, I read about 533 million Facebook users’ phone numbers and personal data having been leaked online. In a Business Insider article on that topic, a quote from Alon Gal — Under the Breach, chief technology officer at Hudson Rock, caught my attention.

“Individuals signing up to a reputable company like Facebook are trusting them with their data, and Facebook [is] supposed to treat the data with utmost respect.” ~Alon Gal

‘Smack My Head’ is what first came to mind when I read that. What is this Gal smoking?

I thought I would rewrite it to be closer to reality.

“Individuals sharing their personal data with a company created by a hacker, like Facebook, and expecting a happy ending, haven’t been paying attention.” ~Me

Where’s Sensa when we need her?

Today, let’s reach out to at least one friend to check out on them before it’s too late.

Dwade Kearns author on mental health, suicide prevention, and society

New! My books are on Ream and, eventually, elsewhere.

Please subscribe to be the first to know about new posts, stories & books.

And connect with me!

“A candle loses nothing by lighting another candle.” ~James Keller

I published this story in A Windy Life, a publication on Medium.

A Windy Life — a publication on Medium with neo-noir drama

--

--

Dwade Kearns
A Windy Life

A #depression brought me to a suicide attempt. I write to fight taboos. | #SuicidePrevention | Neo-noir Crime Drama Author | #PenName