Working Mother off Nights

Paul Byrne 🌿
A Wonderful and Frightening World
2 min readJun 12, 2024
Photo by Daniel Uvegård on Unsplash

I slept on the floor before the present day

A childish spawn of the ‘once in a lifetime!’

Glimmer in my father’s dead ‘glittery’ eyes

Then — and also

To hide from the demon faces that bulged from the awning

Over my bed.

She slept on the sofa because a settee wasn’t for the likes of us

Off night shifts at the Luton and Dunstable General Hospital.

As a ‘working mother’ we lived between ‘conversations’

Cut short at the school gates

By housewives, mothers and Christian women

With a Catholic tinge to their hair-dos.

I fell on the dog once,

And she didn’t bite

Until I offered her a bite of my biscuit.

Then she did.

A wife and mother and midwife to others

And sometimes to me

When we weren’t sleeping

and she remembered her hearing aid.

To hear me by and by.

My father, it turned out later in life,

Lived two separate lives.

Or maybe we could have should have would have known

If we didn’t sleep so much on the sofa and floor.

And remembered our hearing aids.

Drink driving was okay

Cos everyone did it in those days.

And they smoked and smoked and smoked

Because, I’m told, nobody ever told them otherwise.

Both at once! Well, what a treat that was!

Having a separate life must have been hard

Just to remember everyone’s names

For a start.

It must have been.

obscene.

I’d have resented me if I were him too

Can’t kick a football in a straight line boy!

Rather write a story about a round ball in a square net

Put him in the corner with a bottle of coke and a bag of crisps

And he could pretend I wasn’t his problem.

For long

We all turn into our fathers one day

Cos that simply isn’t true

If we try hard enough

We can turn into our mum.

But I don’t want that either because

a girl once said I looked like her and that was ugly

Cos she had a blackened soul

So I turned out to be the rainbow

At the end of the pot of gold.

--

--

Paul Byrne 🌿
A Wonderful and Frightening World

Writer and performer. Expanding on a new found interest in mystical pathways.