Writing Inspiration

Find Your Quiet Hour for Creativity

If you want to write, one hour makes all the difference.

Michelle Richmond
The Caffeinated Writer
4 min readApr 8, 2023

--

my writing desk with the day’s succession of glasses: water, coffee wine

The Quiet Hour: Inspiration from The Vinyl Room

One thing I love about teaching is the inspiration I get when my students start writing, creating, and making something beautiful. Such is the case with The Vinyl Room by Andres Celati. I first had the pleasure of reading Andres’s work when he was a student in my Writing for Substack class in February (the next class starts April 12). Andres’s most recent post, The Vinyl Hour, really spoke to me. It’s about records, but it is also about attention and so much more.

“What’s in an hour?” Andres asks. “What’s in a record?”

Andres wakes up an hour before necessary each day to do one thing: “To listen to a record. On vinyl. Uninterrupted. With no distractions.”

You can bring this uninterrupted hour to anything in your life to make the day more meaningful: meditation, reading, exercise, cooking…and, of course, writing.

As someone who has been writing for most of my life, I know the power of an uninterrupted early morning hour, even a half hour. (I like to set a sand timer to keep myself on track, and in fact I’m using one right now — I…

--

--