How to Start Writing a Novel

Tips on Jumping into the Narrative Waters

Michelle Richmond
The Caffeinated Writer
3 min readJun 28, 2020

--

Photo by Arisa Chattasa on Unsplash

A couple of years ago, I reached out to aspiring writers to ask what challenges they faced in their writing. More than 2,000 writers have answered my survey, 5 Quick Questions About Your Writing Life. 66% of respondents said the hardest part of writing a novel is getting started. Maintaining a writing habit came in second.

For me, maintaining a habit for the long haul is the hardest part. This was true when I wrote my first novel 17 years ago, and it’s still true today, six novels in. Beginning is fun and full of promise. It’s the novel’s middle distance where I start to get weary, wondering how I’ll reach the other side. In the beginning, you don’t yet know what can go wrong, and how long it will take to fix it.

I’ll address writing habits in a separate post, but let’s tackle the big one first: how do you sit down in the chair and begin the hard work of getting the words on the page?

Step One

Get past thinking, “I’m writing a novel.” Instead, tell yourself, “I’m writing a few words today” or “I’m writing a piece of my novel today.”

Writing a novel is a daunting challenge and a major, time-consuming endeavor. Looking from the starting line to the finish line, miles away, can be mentally…

--

--

Michelle Richmond
The Caffeinated Writer

NYT bestselling author of THE MARRIAGE PACT & other novels & story collections. Write with me: thewritersworkshops.com. Books: https://michellerichmond.com