A SIMPLE GUIDE TO SELF-TRANSFORMATION

Two Cats, a Piano and the Secret to Happiness

How not ironing your jeans can make you a happier person

Kyros Vogiatzoglou
A Writing Journey
Published in
10 min readApr 26, 2019

--

Two years ago I started learning to play the piano. Up to that point, I had been engaged in a total of exactly zero music-learning activities in my whole life. That was at 41, and I can now play music.

At 41, all the knowledge I had about the instrument we call a piano was restricted to the fact that some keys are white and some are black. I didn’t have a clue about how music works.

Around the same time, I decided I wanted to share my flat with two cats. I had spent the past few years sharing my flat with no living creature whatsoever — human or non-human. I’ll get back to the cats in a minute.

I am now pleased to say that I can play quite comfortably five pieces by composers such as Max Richter, Philip Glass and Yann Tiersen, plus one or two more by lesser-known composers, and fragments from a few other pieces.

I know what you’re thinking, that’s not very impressive. But hey, it’s the first music I’ve ever played in my whole life, so at least be supportive by pretending to share my enthusiasm.

--

--

Kyros Vogiatzoglou
A Writing Journey

I write fantasy. I love lemon desserts & dragons. Lead Strategist @ MALVI (www.mal-vi.com).