Belief in the Power of Self

My shift and realization

Shereese N.
A Writing Space Called Home
3 min readJun 10, 2022

--

While many of us have an array of deities, gods, demons, angels, etc that we believe in, the one thing I will always come back to is the power of self.

Photo by Miguel Bruna on Unsplash

The power of self keeps us level and balanced on a tangible level. We fortunately and unfortunately have to endure this life so why not make the most of it and live it according to your own heart space aka the power of self.

I am not saying this from a self-centered standpoint but more of a self-fulfilling one. No one individual should live in a state of suffering, hurt, or heartache for an extended period.

While yes we can use these other worldly beings as a mental way to help get us through, we ultimately have to rely on our individual powers to physically get us to the next step, to lay the next cobblestone, to climb that next mountain, and swim the next ocean.

Living in my car has taught me a multitude of things, one of which is realizing the only power that is truly going to move me is me.

When we wake up we have to move

We ultimately have a choice in life; to coast, to survive, or to live. While we all encounter life’s trials and tribulations, we have to ultimately choose how we move forward from them.

Yes, a lot of these life events hurt like hell and the pain can linger but with each sunrise and opening of our eyes, we have to move. We can either move to roll over and cry, move to make breakfast, or move to make a plan.

Recently I was feeling in a pit of despair with my situation and felt like I was suffocating. I begged and pleaded with my “spiritual team” to help me, to give me guidance, a sign, a breath, something, and this morning I felt nothing.

I remember watching something that said, the reason you can not connect is that you lost connection to yourself.

I had to pause a moment…

Have I truly lost connection to myself?

The answer is yes.

I have relied heavily on things that may or may not exist instead of relying on my own damn power! We have to live on this earth and endure, NOT THEM!

Again this is not to say we can not utilize them as a therapeutical way of moving forward. We are ritualistic and clingy beings who look for things that boost our happier side which ultimately aids in moving at all.

Anyway, today I utilized my power of writing and wrote a letter to my “spiritual team” and no it wasn’t pretty. However, I feel better and have an inclining of what I should do next with my life.

I woke up and decided to move!

Thanks for reading.

If you are enjoying my writing and want to help keep this unicorn nomad hydrated, please feel free to buy me a coffee.

--

--

Shereese N.
A Writing Space Called Home

Alternative Lifestyle Writer " If I'm gonna think it, than I might as well say it!" 🗣