Alone with the baby (Day 93)

Sara Tomsic
A Year in a Life
Published in
2 min readJan 6, 2020
Photo by The Honest Company on Unsplash

I’ve had help with motherhood from day one. My husband is wonderful. My mom and my brother help out a lot. Even my inlaws help when they can. I have friends offering to help to relieve me of caring for Otto even if just for a bit.

While help is always welcomed and rationally excepted as the best thing that I can ask for, I have to be honest and admit that I also love it when it’s just the two of us. I seem to be more relaxed, being the sole creator of our day (well, to be really honest, it’s Otto who is the master of our days).

True, I don’t do anything else apart heat up lunch for myself and maybe get a wash of laundry going. I believe that to this day, I haven’t been able to also hang it to dry when I’m alone with our boy. But I get to care for him and laugh with him. I kinda want to spend all this time with him.

Today we demonstrated this again. We got to eat, nap, play and have fun. But the most important thing is that our little boy seems so happy and pleased that he’s here with us. I believe that any mother knows this feeling and would agree that it’s just amazing how much love children can give you even at such a young age.

So for his sake and my sanity, I need to be more strict about listening for his cues when he needs anything and following his routine as best as we can, when it’s not just the two of us.

Motherhood in numbers:

  • exercise: none
  • teeth washed: once
  • meals: two

--

--