Measles (Day 94)

Sara Tomsic
A Year in a Life
Published in
2 min readJan 7, 2020
Photo by Carlo Navarro on Unsplash

Today I freaked out and again went through the whole thought process of the issue of vaccination. I came across a piece of news that in our country there has been a mini outbreak of measles. Otto, of course, hasn’t been inoculated yet and he is, therefore, a possible target of the transmission of the virus. To make matters worse, I saw a red spot on Otto’s tummy. Later it was evident that it was a small pimple.

So we limited his exposure by going out with him only to open spaces for walks and avoid closed spaces with bunch of people. He hasn’t had any health issues that would bother him so far and I hope it stays this way.

It is so strange that subconsciously (obviously) and sometimes also consciously I am so scared for this little boy. I hate seeing him cry for anything and I can’t even imagine having him screaming because he has any kind of boo-boo.

My husband and I decided to have our son vaccinated (we start with the shots in less than a month) and cross our fingers it goes well. Unfortunately, this is a thing that is not just black and white. There are cases that clearly show that there are issues and the last thing I wish for Otto is that he becomes one of the statistic babies.

Motherhood in numbers:

  • diapers changed: six
  • shower: one
  • teeth washed: twice

--

--