Sleeping a lot (Day 97)

Sara Tomsic
A Year in a Life
Published in
2 min readJan 13, 2020
Photo by Ana Tablas on Unsplash

Today I again did all the naps with Otto. He isn’t able to fall asleep in any other way but by breastfeeding. And by sleep, I mean good quality sleep. He can fall asleep in my husband’s or my mum’s arms, but that isn’t for as long or as deep as it should be.

To be honest, I don’t mind. Otto and I found the rhythm that works for us and for me to see our little boy happy and engaging with us in his wake time is precious. My intuition tells me that it was the right thing to do. I honestly think that he needed it. To develop some secure attachment this way.

When I go to nap with him, I don’t sleep all the time. Sometimes, I just lay next to him, watching him or thinking about things with my eyes closed.

He really nurses a lot during the day and at times I’m just his pacifier. But by joining him for all his naps means I’m well-rested too.

Like almost every day, we went to bed for the morning nap at nine for forty-five minutes. Then we played and laughed and read stories. I also made lunch. Then we went to sleep for the Lunch nap at noon and slept until quarter to two. After I fed Otto, I ate and then made Otto some bows out of ribbons and hung them to his play gym. He loved them. He stayed there until four-fifteen and we went for a half an hour nap which he showed me he needed by yawning really hard.

For now, this works for us. Sometimes, Lunch naps are done in a stroller, which is also very nice. To be honest, I can’t wait for better weather, so we’ll be really out and about a lot.

I was worried about him getting this habit of being accustomed to falling asleep with me exclusively, but we’ll try and get him to sleep in his crib very soon. Fingers crossed.

Motherhood in numbers:

  • exercise: none
  • teeth washed: twice
  • diapers changed: four

--

--