The night when you’ll sleep (Day 16)

Sara Tomsic
A Year in a Life
Published in
2 min readOct 4, 2019
Photo by freestocks.org on Unsplash

This again is a morning story. The morning after an afternoon, when my son didn’t want to leave my arms. Or better yet, he opted for soothing with breastfeeding a lot. After an active morning with going to a baby's massage class and Otto’s meeting some new people from my workplace, he needed to be cuddled by me and my husband nonstop.

My husband was kind to keep him occupied three times for an hour, so I caught up on some sleep, but I feel I’m still tired. Also, everyone that sees me, says I do look tired. I bet it’s because of the dark under circles.

Also, this night didn’t help at all, I bet. We went to bed at eleven, all changed and fed, but were up a few minutes after two. During the night, the whole seance of changing him and feeding him lasts for an hour. But tonight, Otto was wide awake at three and so I went to the living room, so we didn’t bother daddy that much.

He settled around four-thirty after a few feeding sessions and another diaper changed — which actually turned into a cleaning operation after a small poo accident.

I finally got him to sleep, but he didn’t want to sleep in his nest which he has on the couch, so I took him in my arms and we dozed off for some two hours.

I know this is all temporary, but boy I can’t wait when he’ll sleep through the night.

Motherhood in numbers:

  • out in the real world: for three hours
  • flashing breasts in public: two times
  • cleaning poo off of myself: once, in the middle of the night

--

--