The perfect day (Day 34)

Sara Tomsic
A Year in a Life
Published in
2 min readOct 22, 2019

Otto and I had the perfect day. His daddy went back to work and we managed just fine. As I already wrote, days with a baby fly by so fast. We wake up, eat and change a diaper, and it’s already lunchtime.

Anyhoo, Otto’s thirty-fourth day of life has been amazingly perfect. We have been following the Little Ones Newborn Sleep Program since Sunday (we started with 5–7 weeks) and it has worked like a charm.

I have been giving him little more breastfeeding time as is specified as I also decided to offer him food when he asks for it. Developmentally and emotionally, he benefits tons from that.

But all in all, I notice that he is calmer both during the day and night, as I feel he comes out more rested as he has before. He is less in our arms, and when he is, it’s really quality time.

I started reading children’s stories to him, we play, make faces, we talk to each other and he gesticulates and makes noises for an answer.

He spends more and more time on the floor, on his back, and on his tummy. Our little boy is growing stronger each day, now able to turn his head on his own.

So after enough sleep, we went for a walk. The days are so nice and we had an hour and a half long bask in it. He doesn’t get it full-frontal as his skin is sensitive, but still, fresh air will do him good.

My husband and I listen to other people’s experiences with the first months of their newborns and we are so grateful our baby boy is such an angel.

Motherhood in numbers:

  • minutes of happiness: one thousand four hundred and forty
  • daytime sleep: none
  • nighttime sleep: nine hours

--

--