Don’t do what you love, do what you have to.

Jhoaylin
A young manager’s time off
2 min readApr 18, 2024

--

I used to hate my job, until I understood it allowed me to do the things I love.

Photo by Eva Darron on Unsplash

The first time I traveled, I felt gratitude towards a job I used to resent. I realized after getting home I was blessed to have a job that financed my trips, shopping sprees, and hobbies.

Now this doesn’t mean I don’t aim to grow my career. I’m not blinded by money, not that I have endless amounts of it either.

But complaining about a job has never done more than making people miserable, and I refused to fall in that trap.

We rely on motivation, discipline, inspiration and many other “self-made” concepts to move us towards our “dreams.”

Sometimes you just have to do what is necessary, instead of what you love.

Have you ever heard of people who do what they love become burnt out? And then having to take a break due to their passion turning into a “job?”

I realized my passion is having the opportunity to do the things I love, without worrying about how to afford it.

And for that, I’ll do what I have to do. I’ll be in my little corner working on myself, my skills, knowledge and scaling my profile.

Eventually things will work out just like they always do, and I will reach new milestones one step at a time.

Enjoy the process, it’s what you do to enjoy what you love.

--

--

Jhoaylin
A young manager’s time off

Team Manager in my 20's | Customer Service Expert. Side quests include Marathon training and being chronically online.