BEER. Who needs it?

Ed B
Clean for Cancer
Published in
2 min readJan 14, 2019
I can do without it for a year…. right??

ME. Well the old me anyway. I used to say that one of my favourite things in life was sipping a cold beer in the sunshine, usually accompanied by some great live tunes. And what better place to drink beer in the sunshine that Byron Bay, where I’ve just been for a glorious summer break for the first week of the year. But being only 9 days into my newfound 12 months of teetotalism, experiencing that beer-in-the-sun feeling again is a looooong way off for me.

Usually New Years resolutions have their used by date and sooner or later you crash out. The normal consequence off some peer pressure or feeling like ‘I’ve earned it’. Luckily for me it’s a little different when you’ve taken $2190 of people’s hard earned money for kids cancer research (thanks again to all who’ve donated!). Incidentally, I’ve just transferred the first of your donations across to The Kids Cancer Project. Feels good!

First funds transfer from my Gofundme to The Kids Cancer Project

Luckily my 7 days in Byron was a family affair so not drinking hasn’t been a big deal so far. I had my amazing family to hang out with and chose to sleep on a nine year olds’ sleep schedule instead of hitting the Byron pub scene for late nights and live music. It’s such a beautiful place it was easy to just enjoy the nature, get in some yoga and meditate.

But now I’m on the way back to bad old Berlin where beer is cheap and medicinal. That’s where the real journey begins and I restart my social life booze-free. So enjoy your new year vino and craft beer people and spare me a thought if you’re sinking one in the sun!

--

--

Ed B
Clean for Cancer

Berlin based. Running language meetups and raising awareness and money for cancer in young people in 2019. https://www.gofundme.com/clean-for-cancer-in-2019