Welcome aboard!

Ediale Kingsley
A-Z Of Charismatic Comedy
3 min readAug 25, 2016

But make sure you pore over this publication. It sure will do for you one thing: pump you up to become a charismatic comedian. That’s about all that will mark you out for success in the fun business — charisma.

Lepacious Bose (She’s way slimmer these days)

PROLOGUE

Journalism is the gateway through which I’ve found a path into the palaces of industry giants like AY and his boys, talk about Seyilaw and co. It’s also pen-pushing that helped me worm my way into the hearts of Lepacious Bose and my dear sister, Hellen Paul aka Tattafo.

I still cherish one of the sweet memories. That day was AY’s sister’s traditional wedding. The house, in Ikorodu, was crawling with all the loud mouths in the industry: Elenu, MC Shakara, Ushbebe, Pencil, and the rest. The list wasn’t endless, but all the boys were there. I saw, first hand, the convergence of talented rib crackers under a roof, in their elements. It was my first interview with some A list comic stars.

Trust the Nigerian journalist. When the show ended, I didn’t bat eyelid as I clasped something the show curator shoved in my hands, for my troubles. Obviously for my Okada transport fare back to the office. Hey. Don’t go cursing the cyclist;he got his, and I had a lot still left for me. Although Ikeja is far from Ikorodu, he simply collected 250 Naira.

So after that day, I got the AY’s Comic Family locked down, from the boss to Seyilaw whose wife showed me lavish hospitality when I went interviewing her hubby. Elenu followed his snout down to my studio at Unity Rd, Ikeja. Everyone of the AY clique was explored for the Laffline column I write for the National Daily newspaper.

I’ve met a couple of others so far.

I was with Lepacious Bose in her bathroom while I interviewed her. Nothing new! She scrubbed down her voluptuous body with each of my questions. I stood there, stiff, resisting the devil and his distractions as I spoke into her ears. By the time the interview was done, we had talked for an hour — on the phone.

What were you thinking?

One thing I appreciate from Bose was her busy schedule. She’s a jackal. I was on her trail as she worked with Koffi and Owengee on their soap. She is one of the reasons I began to think towards my dad’s advice of getting a government work. She is a government worker as well!

Tattafo saw me the first time, and something told her to keep speaking the Ishan dialect with me. I was quite shocked. I whispered to my left heart: How did she know I am from Ishan?

Okay. Our first meeting was smooth and cordial, thanks to Elenu who did the connection. Soon, I got to know she is one of the top salary earners at radio continental. I later got her talking, and then jobbed her an emcee gig: a big royal wedding of my publisher and the Oba of Benin’s daughter in February.

Hellen Paul is a dish: warm and friendly. Most times I was with her I consistently reminded my right heart she was married.

Before I became a journalist, I must let you all know about myself as a student entertainer in Auchi Poly. I wouldn’t exactly call myself an entertainer because I was also ministering — preaching the gospel. I was with this very creative group known as the Inspirators, hosting various shows on campus, getting popular at the same time, making impacts as well. I did some mentoring, too. I-go-save, a rascally comedian, and some other sidekicks were respective tutors and pupils then. That tells you many of the big guys and the wee folks in the industry have either gone above or under me.

I won’t bore you to death with all my heroics. But, essentially, my life in the industry has been exciting and inspiring. And I suppose I should let you all know how all of these jokers have influenced me, the Nigerian comedy, and my column. You’re free to appropriate all of this experience. I mean I’m allowing you to pick my brain.

Thank you for doing just that.

--

--

Ediale Kingsley
A-Z Of Charismatic Comedy

Writer, journalist, filmmaker, publicist, publisher & founder of One Room Reality, Creator Ediale Films, InstaLetters, University Of Do and Sabistation.