“We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit.” -Will Durant.

It was June 2017. I was absorbed in my work when one of my subordinates approached me with a problem.
“It can’t be solved”, I said. “We have to live with it.”
“But it will have negative impacts”, he said.
“Yes, but we are helpless”.
Later I informed this to my leader.
“So, you really feel it can’t be solved?”, he asked.
“Yes.”
“Did you give your best?”
“Sir, believe me, no one in this world can solve this.”
“Hmm… Maybe you are right. But I have one solution.”
And to my surprise, that worked! I had two more similar encounters with him which deleted this negative habit from my subconscious. Instead of believing, “it’s not possible”, now I begin with, “let’s see how to do it.”

Habit is defined as “a settled or regular tendency or practice, especially one that is hard to give up”. How habits are formed? Three prominent ways:

1. Belief: Someone said, “the world can’t be changed” and you accepted. Immediately, it got registered into the subconscious mind and later, it’s your habitual response to any idea calling for a change.

2. Repeated action: When an activity is repeated, our subconscious mind automates that. Eg, driving demands conscious effort initially, now it happens seamlessly.

3. A pleasing reward: When the end result of an activity gives pleasure.

Be conscious and allow only empowering beliefs into your subconscious.
Take advantage of the repeated actions concept and create a new empowering habit.
Chase the pleasing reward with an empowering action plan.

Further, Bhagavad Gita 2.62 encourages us by informing that any inferior or destructive habit can be destroyed by uplifting our consciousness. My habit of “it’s not possible” was transformed into “let’s see how to do it” by associating with my leader who uplifted my consciousness.

Go ahead and create empowering habits by associating with people having a powerful mindset and habits.

Liked what you read? Please comment below and share with friends.
Want regular updates? Like Facebook Page.
For email updates, please subscribe.
To connect, share your contact details.

Want an article on a particular topic? Comment below :)

My personal suggestion: Please read the Bhagavad Gita As It Is by HDG A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada for deeper insights.

--

--

Aakash Goyal
Aakash Goyal

On a mission to help people break their dis-empowering patterns and motivate them from within.