2015 Gaming PC Build: Bitfenix Phenom

Aaron Ng
Aaron's Blog
Published in
3 min readFeb 26, 2015

--

It’s been way too long since I’ve upgraded my computer. To prepare myself for the onslaught of awesome games coming in 2015 I’ve decided to build a new rig over the weekend. The focus: a small and light machine that packs a ton of power. Here’s what I built:

2015 Build Specs
Case: Bitfenix Phenom (mini-itx)
Motherboard: Asus ROG Maximus VII Impact
Ram: Corsair Dominator Platinum 16GB (2x8GB)
Storage: Samsung EVO 850 1TB SSD
CPU: Intel i7 4790k
CPU Cooler: Corsair H105
GPU: MSI 4G GTX 980
PSU: Corsair AX760i
Keyboard: Das Keyboard 4 Ultimate
Mouse: Razer Mamba
Case Cooling: Front + back case fan intake. Exhaust from H105 at the top.

Being a “hardware enthusiast” meant that my builds in the past have all been ridiculous, full-tower beasts. I mean the kind with flashing blue lights and fans loud enough to keep you up at night. The kind of computer that would double as a mini space heater because of how much hot air was being pushed out. Here was my old build for comparison:

Old Specs
Case: Corsair 600T
Motherboard: ASUS P6T
Ram: OCZ Platnium 6GB @ 1333MHz
HDD: 3TB Western Digital Black (3x1TB)
CPU: i7 920 OC’d @ 3.6GHz
CPU Cooler: Corsair H100i
GPU 1: GTX 470
GPU 2: GTX 470
Keyboard: Das Keyboard Professional
Mouse: Logitech G500

My internals, don’t have a photo of the outside for some reason…
Not mine! Just the same case as my old computer.

This thing was huge. The 600T was billed as a mid-tower case but by most standards was both taller and heavier than most full-tower cases. One time while moving this thing across my carpet I hit my toenail and it ripped right off in a huge bloody mess. Not fun.

So I’m exploring other options this time around. Something smaller. Something more minimal. Something more powerful but with less components. Here’s the final result below. Not too shabby, I think! The build came out clean, looks great and is rockin’ stellar temperatures both at idle and load. More importantly it’s powerful, runs everything I’m playing on max and is light enough to carry around. Really happy with this build. ☺

What am I playing? Not much right now: Final Fantasy XIV and League of Legends mostly. Anxiously anticipating these (and many others) though: Dying Light, Evolve, SC2: Legacy of the Void, Overwatch, Batman: Arkham Knight, etc.

See you all in game!

Originally published at blog.aaron.ng.

--

--

Aaron Ng
Aaron's Blog

technology, meditation, aesthetics. i’ve done work for companies including Facebook, Square, and Apple.