#2 Reflecting The Pause

Prashish
abakgarne
Published in
3 min readApr 10, 2018

Welcome to abakgarne, a series of my raw thoughts, rants, and reflection of Nepal. They are going to be deeply personal, which most might find boring and to some, mildly amusing. If you want to try this experiment, write something less boring and use the hashtag #abakgarne.

Views and opinions expressed are solely my own.

It has been more than a month since I arrived in Kathmandu. Every day has been the same, but different. Every day I wake up inspired to beat the day, and curious to learn more.

I haven’t felt this recharged for a long time.

How I spend my days.

Inspiration:

People have asked me a countless number of times why I moved back. I have been pondering over this for some time. Hence, you might have noticed a short period of silence in #abakgarne. For the last few weeks, I have been looking for my “inspiration”.

We find inspiration in unknown places. Places which, by nature, engulf your existence and take you to a land of discovery. The discovery isn’t through the act of finding the meaning though, but by traveling through the journey. The journey might not have checkpoints nor cheerleaders, but characters who went through their paths to connect the dots going backward. Last few weeks, these characters have been my imaginary friends from books on history and biography.

As life takes you through your journey, you might get caught into its net. It is essential to pause and take a hard look at your goals, and where you want to be. I did that when I was in the US. My vision didn’t match my actions. I needed a hard reset, a break to reflect and rediscover myself.

I needed a hard reset, a break to reflect and rediscover myself.

Our time is shorter, shorter than the time it takes to finish a coffee. When your focus is to simply wake up and go to work, then you get distracted and lose your trail. It is important to recognize that. It is important to make life more meaningful, purposeful & creative.

Another question that I constantly ask myself is: Does this make me happy? Does it fulfill me? If the answer isn’t Hell Yes, it is time to take concrete actions to get back to my happiness trail.

More or less:

My virtual mentors for writing are Tim Urban and Derek Sivers. These two incredible human beings have a completely different writing styles. Tim writes long articles narrating as the first person and every nooks and corner of the subject. Derek writes short, crisp and valuable life lessons. My favorites are this, this, this and this.

Inspired by them, I tried writing a couple of drafts for #abakgarne. But it turned out horrible and, most importantly, didn’t capture my intention nor thought. It felt forced, and I had to scratch my head to write them.

As I go through my journey, I want to make the process fun for me and for everyone. I constantly ask myself what this publication should represent. The short answer is that I still don’t know. But, I’m sure that we are going to find out.

I want to make the journey fun and enlightening. And if there is a way you want to be part of this, please say hi! I’m always looking to meet people to listen to their crazy ideas.

Fun things to do in Kathmandu:

Contribute in local events (Taken at Karkhana’s Momasaur Spring Camp)
Visit exhibitions (Taken at Teach for Nepal’s 5th Anniversary)
Hike for a scenic view of the valley.

If you like what you read, please 👏 and share for this to reach a greater audience. Leaving a comment would be the best thing you can do. Thanks!

--

--