Stepping into the Role of a Product Owner

Sovet Safguluzada
ABB Innovation
Published in
2 min readSep 5, 2023

In this blog, I will talk about how we should Step into the Role of a Product Owner in the new organization. And How to Increase our Influence fast and effectively in new Organizations.

I recently became a Product Owner in a field that’s new to me. I found myself asking, “What steps should I take to quickly and effectively understand my organization’s business and become a good Product Owner?” Here’s how I was approaching this new chapter:

1. 📚Learning the Business/Product
From day one, I’ve been immersing myself in understanding the market, our users, and what’s trending in the industry. This foundational knowledge not only informs my product decisions but also builds my credibility within the team and the organization.
🔗 #MarketResearch #UserCentric

2. 🎯Aligning with Business Strategy
I’ve spent time with leadership to understand our organization’s strategic goals, vision, mission, and business objectives. This helps me ensure that the product roadmap is in sync with our strategic goals.
🔗 #BusinessAlignment #StrategicVision

3.👥 Engaging with Stakeholders
I’ve initiated regular stakeholder meetings to understand their needs, expectations, and feedback. This helps me understand what they need and want, which is super useful when deciding what to focus on next. This has been invaluable for prioritizing our Product Backlog and making data-driven decisions.
🔗 #StakeholderEngagement #FeedbackLoop

There is only one rule for being a good talker — learn to listen

4. 🤝Collaborating with the Scrum Team (Collaborate, Don’t Dictate_
Open communication with my Development Team and Scrum Master has been key. We discuss technical constraints and opportunities, fostering a shared understanding and vision for the product. Listening to them, understanding the technical constraints, and finding opportunities for innovation together would be your greatest asset. A shared vision is far more powerful than a dictated one.
🔗 #TeamCollaboration #ScrumPrinciples

Don’t wait for the right moment; talk to people every day.

5. 📈Committing to Continuous Learning
Remember the only constant is change, especially in technology. I’ve enrolled in training sessions and seminars that are relevant to both the business and Scrum methodologies. Staying updated with the latest practices and trends is a commitment I’ve made to myself and my team. The day you stop learning is the day you stop growing.
🔗 #ContinuousLearning #ProfessionalDevelopment

I hope this blog will be helpful at some point in your career. I’d be truly grateful for any feedback you can offer, as it will help me create even better content in the future.

--

--

Sovet Safguluzada
ABB Innovation

Experienced product owner and business analyst with a strong IT background and over 2 years of experience in product development and Agile.