Abbas Sbeity
Abbas Sbeity
Published in
1 min readMay 27, 2019

--

SILENT INTERACTIONS — UBER

I don’t own a car in Beirut which makes my commuting experience very interesting on a daily business. I use all types of transportation services available to move around the city. This includes Service (the Lebanese shared-taxi), Vans (mini-buses), and Uber.

Selecting which service I am using depends on my current location or my destination, how much I am willing to pay, and recently, my mood.

When I am tired after a long day at school, especially that it is not easy to find a direct service to take me home, I prefer using Uber.

The most interesting part for me is the silent experience. I can order the cab from my phone, share my location and destination, and pay online. I can easily have a completely silent ride without a single interaction with the driver. I can later say thank you by rating the ride on the app and sending him/her some compliments and stickers. This might be sound bad, however, it is more relaxing to be silent after a long day. I am still all for human interactions, but sometimes it is good to have the other option.

--

--

Abbas Sbeity
Abbas Sbeity

Community– & Human–Centered Researcher, Designer, & Facilitator