St Peter’s Tree Study

paul martin
Aberdeen & environs

--

A lesson in tree appreciation

Trinity+

Trees of an Old Aberdeen School

Get Primary 1 students to stand in front of the star and ask them: What do you see ?

Repeat two weeks later, in Spring. And six weeks after that.

What will be learnt ?

Appendix:

I would advise purchase of a historical sequence of books on one topic. Then you can ascertain an arc. I am not sure if this is useful but there is a degree of pleasure in learning that the Royal Oak pub is a meeting point for those of a Cavalier disposition (King Charles hid up a tree once, allegedly).

In the same way a person of senior years might be asked about some local landmark such as Mrs Oliver Cromwell’s home after her husband died.

But if you were to ask me I would stare at a tree and wonder what had transpired under its leaves. And if you wonder too I recommend Hope and her book Lab Girl.

--

--