undecided (matt ferrell) yt comment

paul martin
Aberdeen & environs
2 min readApr 24, 2019

paul martin59 minutes ago

I do not have a Tesla, but have been watching many of the vids of people’s driving experience. I have not seen one for driving in Scotland but I have seen a few for other parts of the EU. The one for Holland showed that there needs to be adequate unambiguous road markings. The latter is a big problem in my home town, and I guess other places where local govt have decided to invest in potholes. (The interstates in the US seem far better maintained) As a result (human) driving in these parts is far more erratic. Second, YT fed a stream of Elon fan bios, following your broadcast. What stuck in my mind was ur assessment of Tesla’s AI as “cruise control withe lane assist” ie level 2. Most footage was of interstate driving, single track shows augmented (green line projections …) but not the actual computer screen which you get in some users self videos. As nattyphysicist says it looks dangerous because to me as I watch the blobs (cars, never pedestrians) come and go I am not convinced that such could cope in my local High Street with erratic tourists. Finally, diesel-gate has left a nasty taste hereabouts. Certain car manufacturers with their software have allegedly played fast and loose and drivers are stuck with expensive vehicles with a much reduced car resale value. Elon’s idea of your car appreciating over time is marketing fantasy. There are many holes in his proposal: You said that you would not let your pride and joy for others to drive, you are certainly not in the minority cf AirBnB woes. Second certain big US companies have damaged the Taxi/personal transport brand. The current IPO rush seems distinctly dodgy from this side of the Atlantic. PS We are in the middle of the Swedish led Green, rather anti carbon, revolution. Your point on vandalism was made in passing but I note how vulnerable the charging network is. I observe that those locally not in plain sight have been replaced with new ones.

--

--