Build systems for Sublime Text 2

Abhinav Kumar
Blistering Barnicles
1 min readNov 13, 2013

I have been using Sublime Text 2 as my primary text editor. It’s not as much bloated as Visual Studio or Eclipse and it’s not as much hard to learn as Vim/Emacs (Sorry folks! I don’t have that much time to spare). But it’s highly extensible, customizable and light-weight to use, so this is the program I’ve been firing since 2012.

I’ve been using Code::Blocks for C++ dev and NetBeans for Java so I needed to rewrite the ST2 build systems for C/C++ and Java. It enabled me to use both the editors without altering my workflow and duplicate installation of compilers.

C++

(using Code::Blocks’ mingw32)

{"cmd":["g++","${file}","-o","${file_path}/${file_base_name}"],"file_regex":"^(..[^:]*):([0-9]+):?([0-9]+)?:? (.*)$","working_dir":"${file_path}","selector":"source.c, source.c++","shell":"true","variants":[{"name":"Run","cmd":["start","C:\\Progra~2\\CodeBlocks\\cb_console_runner.exe","$file_base_name"]}]}

###Java

{"cmd":["C:\\Progra~2\\Java\\jdk1.7.0_40\\bin\\javac","$file"],"file_regex":"^(...*?):([0-9]*):?([0-9]*)","selector":"source.java","variants":[{"name":"Run","cmd":["C:\\Progra~2\\Java\\jdk1.7.0_40\\bin\\java.exe","$file_base_name"]}]}

Originally published at abhnv.com on November 13, 2013.

--

--

Abhinav Kumar
Blistering Barnicles

IAmA Geek. Developer. Pythonista. Music Buff. Tolkienian. Westerosi. Trekkie. Loves Epic Fantasy & OSS. Evangelical Atheist. Tries to write. https://abhnv.com