About Art: Jess Reddy

Jess Reddy
About Art
Published in
5 min readAug 28, 2023

About Art: A place where artists talk about art. Interviews with actors, comedians, writers, and visual artists discuss what inspires them, the truth about their industries, and what they hope to achieve.

Television and film are nothing without the writers and the actors bringing these stories to life and they deserve a fair, well-paying, deal without the scary threat of being replaced by AI. About Art stands with WGA and SAG-AFTRA.

About Art logo.

Interview with About Art creator, Jess Reddy.

Jess Reddy (Latrice Murphy Design and Photography)

Welcome to About Art, the limited interview series where artists talk about their art. Specifically, the goal of this series is to have storytellers explain the process behind their stories. I was in the middle of Second City’s A-E program when lockdown began and I don’t think I would’ve maintained any sense of humor without my classmates. I miss discussing ideas and learning about other artists.

Now that I have explained to you, Reader, about the series, this first piece will be about me, Jess Reddy. It’s only fair that I go through the same questions as my guests.

A little background on me, I’m a comedy writer and actress. I’ve trained at DePaul University Film School and The Second City, both A-E and Conservatory. My first month in film school, I was dubbed “Girl Who Knows Her Shit” when it came to story structure and notes.

Recently, I prefer to write in sketch form, but I have also written films and television pilots. You can find some of my work as well as updates on my Instagram page, @jessrureddy. My website is under construction like the Dunder Mifflin website.

Because I felt it was too weird and self-absorbed for me to try to interview myself, I enlisted the help of my former high school drama teacher, LoriAnn Dowd. She taught me the foundation of improv as well as a myriad of life lessons I will never be able to thank her for. It’s been a long time since high school and I’m proud to say we’re good friends now. Thank you, Lori, for taking the time to talk with me and improve my questions.

This interview has been condensed for clarity.

About Art: When did you realize you were a storyteller?

Jess Reddy: As everyone will say, at a young age because you know you’re weird when you’re young. There are photos of me recreating the opening sequence of The Lion King with my toys when I was four. After I had done that enough, someone gave me a Make Your Own Book kit so I wrote my own story about lions. Completely different than The Lion King but it started there.

About Art: What drew you to your art?

Jess Reddy: Being obsessed with movies as a child.

About Art: What form(s) does your storytelling usually take?

Jess Reddy: These days it’s very limited which is why I have this project. Normally, scripts for television, sketch comedy, and improv. In a perfect world, screenwriting for film and television.

About Art: What do you wish you had known before you started this journey?

Jess Reddy: Besides a crystal ball about student loans, I go back to what Michael McCarthy, my mentor at DePaul would say about that Ira Glass quote about your taste informing you until your skillset matches up. If you’re feeling lost, go back to what you like. A lot of this industry is meeting people and you find people by reaching out to artists who made something you liked.

About Art: What are you glad you didnt know?

Jess Reddy: That I could actually find a moderately successful day job. I don’t know if I would be here. No, I’d still be here.

About Art: What makes you passionate about your art?

Jess Reddy: You gotta refill the well, so I like watching other artists’ stuff like short films, and podcasts (which are basically radio, let’s say it). You can’t stay in your own head. You have to visit other people’s heads. Recommendations from friends.

About Art: An artists journey can be a lonely one. How did you find support and collaborators to keep going and not give up?

Jess Reddy: I think it comes into your life when you least expect it. Any time I’ve tried to force any kind of connection, it fails, but it’s the times when I decided to just do it that I’ve met the most wonderful people.

About Art: What is your ultimate goal? What does “success” look like to you?

Jess Reddy: Art being my primary source of income. I used to say writer on SNL or cast member on SNL but I like keeping it open. Being paid is one of the boxes on the checklist and another would be making my own idea not just someone else’s.

About Art: What would you like to change about your industry?

Jess Reddy: If it changed before me, but realistically, it’s not going to because what needs to change reflects what we need to change as human beings. Civil rights. Inclusion. Late-stage capitalism. The few having power over everyone else isn’t going to change before I get a writing job.

About Art: Do you feel your journey would be easier or harder if the industry was more inclusive?

Jess Reddy: Even ten years ago, being one of the only people of color in that graduating class, I would’ve liked the room to look more diverse. I saw a friend’s taping of a standup special and that room couldn’t have been more diverse. Not just the audience, but the opening comics had a nice blend of people. It’s more female than it used to be. I don’t think it would be more difficult with more inclusion because like I said before all those power structures would be fixed with more voices. To sum up, all sorts of people should be able to tell their stories and art will look more like life.

About Art: How do you use your art to affect change?

Jess Reddy: I don’t think you can make something with the goal of change. You have to tell the stories you want to tell or the ones you want to hear. What you would’ve liked to have seen. If I could just impact one person, that’s change. Not even social justice messaging but causing a reaction like a laugh, that’s change. It still has to be a story of itself and not just bogged down with the bigger message.

About Art: What does an artist need most to make really good art? Passion? Talent? Something else?

Jess Reddy: I think passion is more important than talent. The most talented person still has to try and get their work out there.

About Art: What are you working on next?

Jess Reddy: Getting About Art off the ground.

Please subscribe to this publication and follow the Instagram page, About Art.

--

--

Jess Reddy
About Art

Writer. Actress. Comedian. Using one typo at a time to prove I'm not AI.