7 Reasons Not to Go Back To My Old Flat

After a week-long vacation with my friend’s family, far away from my parental home

Nayanika Saikia
About Me Stories

--

Image provided by the author
  1. The joy of family. My friend’s family is huge and reminds me so much about my own. Having cousins, getting ready with them and the aunts is such a wholesome experience. They have also welcomed me with open arms and made me feel part of the family. Seems like Nayanika has found her Delhi family!
  2. The silence and the calm with only the occasional aeroplanes passing us by. The flat I otherwise live in is located in a very busy thoroughfare. There is a police station nearby as well as two hospitals. There is also a slum nearby. All of it ensures that there is a lot of noise going on. It took us a lot of time to adjust to (we still struggle with that) and so, I don’t know how I will go back to that chaos from the peace.
  3. Tea in bed. Sometimes coffee. Whatever I want. Living alone means one has to do everything. A cup of tea (or coffee) made lovingly by someone else and offered to you always is sweeter.
  4. A nearby book vendor I’ve already bought two books from, on my first day here. I wish we had one near our flat. Or maybe not. God knows I would buy books too often then!
  5. The innate sense of fulfillment and happiness often results in laughter. When…

--

--