About Me — Ala Hamamreh

Some life lessons and more about where to find my work

Ala Hamamreh
About Me Stories
2 min readJun 20, 2024

--

An Avatar representation of me

If someone asked me to write about myself a year ago, I’d probably have gone on and on about my job, my career goals and aspirations.

Generally speaking, I accomplish what I set my mind to accomplish and I am proud of that.

However, things changed last year. For more than one reason, I got burned out, and everything seemed to come crashing down. I experienced first hand what this saying meant: “If you don’t choose a time to rest, your body will choose it for you”

I eventually picked myself up (I wish I can say with grace), rearranged my priorities, and reaped the reward in a character arc commonly seen in the American cinema.

Jokes aside.

I’ve gained more clarity on what and who matters, and I’ve been doing more of what I love, which is great.

The importance of defining your values

Brené Brown is the mind behind this concept. It’s really important to revisit what’s important to you every couple of years and see if your day-to-day actions are aligned with that. You’re most satisfied when you live a life that’s in line with what’s important to you (Your values).

Besides, when you’re clear on what’s important to you, you’ll automatically stop giving a f*ck about the smaller things, and that will give you focus, which is needed to accomplish anything in life.

Pain and heartbreak

My heart broke at a fairly very young age with the death of a loved one. He was 21 when he passed and for a long time I couldn’t process my feelings of grief nor come to terms with what happened. This past year I embraced the fact that deep down I will probably always be sad, and it’s a part of me that I’m learning to accept.

Work Background

I am a content and broadcast media professional. I’ve been in the industry for many years now. I worked with MBC group, Shahid, Yango Play, and now I am working for The Walt Disney Company.

Where can you see more of my work?

  • LinkedIn: I contribute to thought leadership articles on LinkedIn. You can follow me on LinkedIn here.
  • Substack where I publish a monthly newsletter about the streaming services in the MENA region. It’s called All Things Streaming.
  • Medium where I write more random and personal stories here. Think of medium as my experimentation board. I experiment with content here without worrying so much about sticking to a niche. You can find more of my previous articles here

--

--